# OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

**TUESDAY, MARCH 18, 2003** 

## TWENTY-EIGHTH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Tuesday, March 18, 2003 at 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Judge Randy Rogers of the Butler County Probate Court in Hamilton, Ohio, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests of the House of Representatives were recognized by Speaker Householder prior to the commencement of business:

Scott Kize, a guest of Representative Kearns-72nd district.

Dr. Phil Snager, a guest of Representative Schaffer-5th district.

Pastor Grace Marie, a guest of Representative Reidelbach-21st district.

Blaine Griffith, a guest of Representative Key-11th district.

# INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

**H. B. No. 127**-Representatives Jolivette, Young, Price, S. Patton, Hartnett, Seitz, Widowfield, Olman, Hagan, Carano, Hollister, Koziura, Hughes.

To amend sections 5722.01 and 5722.02 and to enact section 5722.21 of the Revised Code to permit municipal corporations to acquire tax-delinquent land for redevelopment free from liens for the unpaid taxes.

**H. B. No. 128**-Representatives Schmidt, DeWine, Niehaus, Webster, McGregor, Kearns, Seitz, Jolivette, Allen, Hagan, Schaffer.

To amend section 5743.05 and to enact section 5743.051 of the Revised Code to eliminate the bond requirement for cigarette dealers in good credit standing and to require cigarette dealers to remit cigarette taxes electronically.

**H. B. No. 129**-Representatives Young, Fessler, McGregor, Driehaus, Seitz, Flowers, Schaffer, Reidelbach, Aslanides, Distel, Brinkman, Wagner, Hagan, Collier, Cates, Gilb, Schmidt, Schneider, Grendell, Willamowski, Seaver, Callender, Clancy, Hoops, Faber, Buehrer, Trakas, Setzer, Oelslager, Williams, Niehaus, Wolpert, Husted, Kearns.

To enact sections 3701.65 and 4503.74 of the Revised Code to create "Choose Life" license plates and the "Choose Life" Fund and to provide that moneys in the fund be used by the Director of Health to fund eligible private, nonprofit organizations that provide services to pregnant women who are planning to place their children for adoption.

**H. B. No. 130**-Representatives Reidelbach, Hagan, McGregor, Kearns, Faber, Otterman, Grendell, Williams, S. Patton, Cirelli, Allen, Clancy.

To amend sections 3313.64, 3313.66, and 3313.672 and to enact sections 3109.51 to 3109.62, 3109.64 to 3109.73, 3109.75 to 3109.81, 3313.649, 3313.6410, 3313.6411, 3313.6412, 3313.6413, 3313.6414, and 3313.6415 of the Revised Code to permit the execution of a power of attorney or caretaker authorization affidavit permitting certain persons with whom a child resides authority over the care, custody, and control of the child including the authority to make decisions regarding school matters and to consent to the medical, psychological, and dental care for the child.

# H. B. No. 131-Representative Schaffer.

To amend sections 2903.08, 4510.17, and 4511.181 of the Revised Code to create the offense of negligent vehicular assault.

**H. B. No. 132**-Representatives Setzer, McGregor, Hughes, Allen, Husted, DeWine, Schaffer, Flowers, Walcher, Aslanides, Seaver, Webster.

To amend section 2907.09 of the Revised Code to expand and modify the penalty for the offense of public indecency.

Said bills were considered the first time.

## **BILLS FOR THIRD CONSIDERATION**

**Am. H. B. No. 25**-Representatives Gibbs, Grendell, Peterson, Seitz, Otterman, McGregor, Core, Gilb, Hollister, Niehaus, Setzer, Wagner, DeBose, Domenick, Skindell, Carmichael.

To amend sections 307.37 and 711.131 and to repeal section 4740.14 of the Revised Code to permit counties to include regulations in their building codes to protect existing surface and subsurface drainage, and to eliminate the Residential Construction Advisory Committee, was taken up for consideration the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 96, nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Allen	Aslanides	Barrett	Beatty
Blasdel	Boccieri	Book	Brinkman
Brown	Buehrer	Callender	Calvert
Carano	Carmichael	Cates	Chandler
Cirelli	Clancy	Collier	Core
Daniels	DeBose	DePiero	DeWine

Distel Domenick Driehaus C. Evans D. Evans Faber Fessler Flowers Gibbs Gilb Grendell Hagan Hartnett Harwood Hollister Hoops Hughes Husted Jolivette Jerse Kearns Key Kilbane Koziura Mason McGregor Miller Latta Niehaus Oelslager Olman Otterman S. Patton T. Patton Perry Peterson Price Raga Raussen Redfern Reidelbach Reinhard Schaffer Schlichter Schneider Seaver Seitz Setzer S. Smith Sferra Skindell G. Smith D. Stewart J. Stewart Strahorn Sykes **Taylor** Trakas Ujvagi Wagner Walcher Webster White Widener Widowfield Willamowski Wolpert Wilson Young Woodard Yates Householder-96.

The bill passed.

Representative Gibbs moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Aslanides, Buehrer, Cates, Chandler, Cirelli, Clancy, Collier, Flowers, Hoops, Hughes, Kearns, Koziura, S. Patton, Reidelbach, Taylor, Wolpert."

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

The title as amended was agreed to.

**H. B. No. 29**-Representatives Jerse, McGregor, Widowfield, Hartnett, Miller, DePiero, Sferra, Perry, S. Patton, Willamowski, D. Stewart, Husted, J. Stewart, Jolivette, Seitz, Core, Williams, Grendell, Redfern, Harwood, Callender.

To amend section 2335.28 of the Revised Code to eliminate the four-day maximum on the amount of jury fees that are taxed as costs in a civil action, was taken up for consideration the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 96, nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Allen **Beatty** Aslanides Barrett Blasdel Boccieri Book Brinkman Brown Buehrer Callender Calvert Carano Carmichael Cates Chandler Collier Cirelli Clancy Core DeBose DeWine DePiero Daniels Distel Domenick Driehaus C. Evans D. Evans Faber Fessler Flowers Gilb Grendell Gibbs Hagan Hollister Hartnett Harwood Hoops

Hughes Husted Jerse Jolivette Kearns Key Kilbane Koziura Latta Mason McGregor Miller Niehaus Oelslager Olman Otterman S. Patton T. Patton Perry Peterson Price Raga Raussen Redfern Reidelbach Reinhard Schaffer Schlichter Schneider Seaver Seitz Setzer Sferra Skindell G. Smith S. Smith D. Stewart J. Stewart Strahorn Sykes Taylor Trakas Ujvagi Wagner Walcher Webster White Widener Widowfield Willamowski Wilson Wolpert Woodard Householder-96. Yates Young

The bill passed.

Representative Jerse moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Barrett, Beatty, Boccieri, Book, Carano, Chandler, Cirelli, DeBose, Distel, Driehaus, Flowers, Hollister, Hoops, Hughes, Key, Latta, Mason, Niehaus, Otterman, Reidelbach, Seaver, Setzer, Skindell, Strahorn, Wilson, Woodard."

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

The title as amended was agreed to.

# MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code section 149.32(B)(3), the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio Bicentennial Commission:

Speaker Householder and Representative Wilson.

On motion of Representative Cates, the House adjourned until Wednesday, March 19, 2003 at 1:30 o'clock p.m.

Attest: LAURA P. CLEMENS, Clerk.