OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

TUESDAY, MARCH 8, 2005

TWENTY-FIFTH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Tuesday, March 8, 2005 at 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Reverend Doctor Frederick A. Wright of the Quinn Chapel AME Church in Forest Park, Ohio, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests of the House of Representatives were recognized by Speaker Husted prior to the commencement of business:

The Hardin Northern High School football team received H.R. No. 15, presented by Representative Gilb-76th district.

Students from Anthony Wayne High School, guests of Representatives Latta-6th district, Wagner-46th district.

Gene Watts, a guest of Representative Hughes-22nd district.

Taylor McKinley, a guest of Representative Raussen-28th district.

Kristen D'Amico and Paul Infield, guests of Representative Fende-62nd district.

Students from Four County Career Center, guests of Representative Hoops-75th district.

Boomer Esiason, a guest of Representative Fessler-79th district.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

H. B. No. 114-Representatives Sayre, Domenick, McGregor, Perry.

To permit certain school districts and nonpublic schools located in areas flooded during the 2004-2005 school year to count time that schools are in session beyond the required minimum number of hours in order to make up "calamity days" missed in excess of the number of days permitted by law and the number of days specified in their contingency plans, and to declare an emergency.

H. B. No. 115-Representatives Setzer, Reinhard, Webster.

To amend sections 3301.075, 3313.843, and 3319.17 and to enact sections 3301.0713, 3312.01 to 3312.14, and 3313.845 of the Revised Code to establish the Educational Regional Service System and the EMIS Advisory

Board.

H. B. No. 116-Representative T. Patton.

To amend sections 9.312, 3313.46, 3318.091, and 3318.10 and to enact section 3318.312 of the Revised Code to require the board of education of each school district undertaking a school building construction project valued over \$25,000 to award the contract for that project only to the lowest responsible Ohio-based bidder or by board option to the lowest responsive and responsible Ohio-based bidder and to require school districts and the Ohio School Facilities Commission to contract with Ohio-based persons when contracting for professional services in support of school district construction projects.

H. B. No. 117-Representatives Reidelbach, Hughes, Blasdel, Flowers, Schaffer, McGregor, Seitz, J. Stewart, C. Evans, Brinkman, Fessler, Blessing, Martin, Kearns, G. Smith, Wolpert, Oelslager, Hagan, Taylor, Seaver, Collier, Setzer, Combs, Hood.

To amend sections 4759.01, 4759.02, and 4759.10 and to enact sections 4783.01, 4783.02, 4783.03, 4783.04, and 4783.05 of the Revised Code regarding provision of complementary or alternative health care services.

H. B. No. 118-Representatives Gibbs, Fessler, McGregor, Hartnett, Reinhard, Faber, Perry, Cassell, Reidelbach, Webster, Gilb, Seaver, Collier, Strahorn, Latta, Allen, Wagoner, Harwood, Willamowski.

To amend sections 1923.01, 1923.02, 2950.01, 2950.031, 5321.01, 5321.03, and 5321.051 of the Revised Code to prohibit a person who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Law from residing within 1000 feet of any preschool premises; to provide for injunctive relief for a violation of that prohibition; to prohibit a tenant of residential premises from allowing such a person to occupy those premises; and to permit a landlord to terminate the rental agreement of, or to evict, a tenant who violates that prohibition.

H. B. No. 119-Representatives Redfern, Beatty, Driehaus, Mason, Allen, Brown, Barrett, Book, Carano, Cassell, Chandler, DeBose, DeGeeter, Distel, Domenick, Fende, Garrison, Hartnett, Harwood, Healy, Kearns, Key, Koziura, Miller, Otterman, S. Patton, Perry, Sayre, Skindell, S. Smith, Strahorn, D. Stewart, Sykes, Ujvagi, Williams, Woodard, Yates, Yuko.

To amend section 1505.07 of the Revised Code to ban the taking or removal of oil or natural gas from and under the bed of Lake Erie.

Said bills were considered the first time.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES AND BILLS FOR SECOND CONSIDERATION

Representative Harwood submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Judiciary to which was referred **H. B. No. 25**-Representative Wagner, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back as a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

RE: IMMUNITY DETERMINATION - STATE EMPLOYEE PARTICIPATION

Representative Willamowski moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Harwood, Dolan, Blessing, Willamowski."

JOHN R. WILLAMOWSKI MATTHEW J. DOLAN TIMOTHY O. SCHAFFER TIMOTHY J. DEGEETER BILL COLEY LOUIS W. BLESSING RANDY LAW SANDRA STABILE HARWOOD DALE MILLER

Beatty

Brown

Collier

DeBose

Evans D.

Garrison

Dolan

Carmichael

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

BILLS FOR THIRD CONSIDERATION

H. B. No. 48-Representatives Hughes, Aslanides, Combs, C. Evans, D. Evans, Faber, Flowers, Gibbs, Hoops, Kearns, Latta, McGregor, Oelslager, Schaffer, J. Stewart, Taylor, Trakas, Webster, DeGeeter, Otterman, Perry, Gilb, Seaver, Willamowski, D. Stewart.

To amend section 2913.49 and to enact section 109.94 of the Revised Code to increase the penalty for identity fraud against an elderly person or disabled adult, and to create the Identity Fraud Passport, was taken up for consideration the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 88, nays 8, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Aslanides Barrett Blasdel Blessing Book Buehrer Calvert Carano Cassell Chandler Coley Combs Core Daniels DeWine DeGeeter Distel Domenick Driehaus Evans C. Faber Fende Flowers

Gibbs Gilb Hagan Hartnett Harwood Healy Hoops Hughes Kearns Kilbane Koziura Latta McGregor Law Martin Mason Mitchell Oelslager Otterman Patton S. Patton T. Perry Peterson Raga Raussen Redfern Reinhard Sayre Schaffer Schlichter Schneider Seaver Seitz Setzer Smith G. Smith S. Taylor Stewart D. Stewart J. Strahorn Trakas Uecker Ujvagi Wagner Wagoner Walcher Webster White Willamowski Williams Widener Widowfield Wolpert Yuko Husted-88. Yates

Representatives Brinkman, Fessler, Hood, Key, Miller, Reidelbach, Skindell, and Sykes voted in the negative-8.

The bill passed.

Representative Hughes moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Barrett, Brown, Buehrer, Calvert, Carano, Cassell, Chandler, Collier, Distel, Driehaus, Garrison, Hagan, Harwood, Martin, T. Patton, Peterson, Setzer, G. Smith, Strahorn, Uecker, Wagner, Wagoner, Walcher, Widener, Williams, Wolpert, Yuko."

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

The title as amended was agreed to.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, on March 3, 2005, signed the following:

Am. H. B. No. 10 - Representative Schneider - et al.

On motion of Representative Blasdel, the House adjourned until Thursday, March 10, 2005 at 11:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest: LAURA P. CLEMENS,
Clerk.