# OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

**TUESDAY, MAY 31, 2005** 

## FIFTY-SIXTH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Tuesday, May 31, 2005 at 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Pastor David Tilly of the First Presbyterian Church in Montpelier, Ohio, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests of the House of Representatives were recognized by Speaker Husted prior to the commencement of business:

Catherine Minick, a guest of Representative Flowers-19th district.

Students from Indian Springs Elementary School, guests of Representative Hughes-22nd district.

Brianne, Devan, and Eryn Tilly, guests of Representative Buehrer-74th district.

# INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

**H. B. No. 281**-Representatives DeWine, Calvert, Seitz, Setzer, Seaver, McGregor, Distel, Widener, D. Evans, Raga, Otterman, Gilb, Kearns, Hartnett, Webster, Allen, Coley, Barrett, Brown, Strahorn, Hood, Brinkman.

To amend sections 5.04 and 5.10 of the Revised Code to add a representation of the Wright Brothers' first piloted airplane to the Coat of Arms and Great Seal of the State of Ohio.

**H. B. No. 282-**Representatives Flowers, T. Patton, J. Stewart, Schlichter, Fende, Allen, Willamowski, Wagoner, McGregor, Miller, Schneider, Yuko, Kearns, Schaffer, C. Evans, Gilb, Setzer, Widener, Raga, Bubp, Skindell, DeWine, Carano, Blasdel, Martin, Barrett, Strahorn, Faber, Perry, Collier, D. Evans, Hughes, Oelslager, Harwood, Combs, Chandler, Buehrer, Wolpert, Williams, Cassell, Ujvagi, Brown, D. Stewart, S. Smith, S. Patton.

To enact section 5.2230 of the Revised Code designating September 11 as "Ohio Public Safety Employee Day."

Said bills were considered the first time.

# REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES AND BILLS FOR SECOND CONSIDERATION

Representative Perry submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Transportation, Public Safety, and Homeland Security to which was referred **H. B. No. 208**-Representative Raga, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back as a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

RE: MOTOR VEHICLE SALVAGE/REPAIR-REGULATION

JAMES M. HOOPS JOSEPH W. UECKER

DAVID R. EVANS RANDY LAW JIM ASLANIDES ANNIE L. KEY

SYLVESTER D. PATTON JOHN WIDOWFIELD STEPHEN BUEHRER DANNY R. BUBP

STEVE REINHARD

The following members voted "NO"

JEANINE PERRY ALLAN R. SAYRE

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

# BILLS FOR THIRD CONSIDERATION

**H. B. No. 157**-Representatives Distel, Aslanides, McGregor, S. Patton, Seitz, C. Evans, Carano, Cassell, Hartnett, Brown, Strahorn, Perry, Gibbs, Setzer, Domenick.

To amend section 1541.31 of the Revised Code to revise the Pymatuning Lake Compact, was taken up for consideration the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill pass?"

Representative Distel moved that **H. B. No. 157**-Representative Distel, et al., be informally passed and retain its place on the calendar.

The motion was agreed to.

**H. B. No. 100**-Representatives Taylor, Carano, Collier, C. Evans, McGregor, Otterman, Reidelbach, Seitz, White, Willamowski, J. Stewart, Cassell, Domenick.

To enact section 3734.576 of the Revised Code to authorize a solid waste management district to exempt automotive shredder residue from the district's generation fee, was taken up for consideration the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 82, nays 6, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Aslanides Barrett Blasdel Blessing Book Brinkman Boccieri Bubp Buehrer Calvert Carano Carmichael Collier Combs Cassell Coley Core Daniels DeBose DeGeeter DeWine Distel Dolan Domenick Evans C. Faber Driehaus Evans D. Garrison Fende Fessler Flowers Gibbs Gilb Hartnett Harwood Hood Hoops Hughes Kearns Kilbane Koziura Latta Law Martin McGregor Mitchell Mason Oelslager Otterman Patton T. Perry Peterson Raussen Reidelbach Raga Reinhard Sayre Schaffer Schlichter Skindell Smith G. Seitz Setzer Smith S. Stewart D. Stewart J. Strahorn Uecker Taylor Trakas Wagner White Widowfield Willamowski Wagoner Williams Wolpert Woodard Yates Yuko Husted-82.

Representatives Chandler, Hagan, Healy, Miller, Redfern, and Sykes voted in the negative-6.

The bill passed.

Representative Taylor moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Aslanides, Daniels, Flowers, Hood, Hughes, Kearns."

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

The title as amended was agreed to.

## CLERK'S NOTATION

The following communication was received from Representative Michelle Schneider:

This is to acknowledge that I was present during session on May 31, 2005, but was not able to have my vote recorded in support of H.B. 100. This is to place on record my support for this legislation.

/s/ Michelle G. Schneider

# MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, on May 26, 2005, signed the following:

Sub. H. B. No. 2 - Representative Widowfield - et al.

On motion of Representative Blasdel, the House adjourned until Wednesday, June 1, 2005 at 1:30 o'clock p.m.

Attest: LAURA P. CLEMENS, Clerk.