# OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

**TUESDAY, OCTOBER 23, 2007** 

## ONE HUNDRED THIRD DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Tuesday, October 23, 2007, 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Pastor Kenneth Johnson of the Seaman United Methodist Church in Seaman, Ohio, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests of the House of Representatives were recognized by Speaker Husted prior to the commencement of business:

Technical Sergeant Michael L. Keller received H.R. 77, presented by Representative Goyal-73rd district.

The Columbus Chapter NBMBAA and Oyauma M. Garrison received House Resolutions 91 and 92 respectively, presented by Representatives Heard-26th district and Beatty-27th district.

Toby Carpenter and students from Karrer Middle School, guests of Representative Hughes-22nd.

Fourth grade students from Mother Teresa School, guests of Representative Coley-55th district.

Mike Brindinger, a guest of Representatives Wagner-81st district and Barrett-58th district.

Members of the Tiffin Historic Trust, guests of Representative Wagner-81st district.

Stephanie Lapp, Zac Willis, Eric Laughlin, guests of Representative Evans-87th district.

Jill Thompson, a guest of Representative J. Stewart-92nd district.

# INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

H. B. No. 360-Representative Williams, S.

Cosponsors: Representatives Yuko, Harwood, Koziura, Bolon, Letson, Fende, Yates, Beatty, Hughes, Goyal, Lundy, McGregor, J., Miller, Mallory, Heard, Foley, Otterman, Domenick, Boyd, Budish, Brown, Skindell, Setzer, Williams, B., Strahorn, Jones, Szollosi, Hagan, R., Book, Flowers.

To enact sections 3701.94, 3701.941, 3701.942, 3701.943, 3701.944, and 3701.945 of the Revised Code to create the Lupus Education and Awareness

Program, to amend Sections 293.10, 293.30, and 339.10 of Am. Sub. H.B. 119 of the 127th General Assembly, and to make an appropriation.

# H. B. No. 361-Representative Yuko.

Cosponsors: Representatives Driehaus, Foley, Healy, Williams, B., Fende, Koziura, Ujvagi, Luckie, Skindell, Lundy, Chandler, DeGeeter.

To amend sections 5313.01, 5313.02, 5313.06, 5313.08, and 5321.01 and to enact sections 5321.20, 5321.21, 5321.22, 5321.23, and 5321.99 of the Revised Code to require that specified residential units conveyed pursuant to a land installment contract receive an appraisal and an inspection prior to the execution of the contract, to define residential lease option contract, to regulate residential lease option contracts under the Ohio Landlord and Tenant Law, and to provide penalties.

# H. B. No. 362-Representative Hite.

Cosponsors: Representatives Koziura, Huffman, Wagoner, Daniels, Stebelton, Gerberry, Fessler, Stewart, J., DeGeeter, Coley, Hottinger, Book, Batchelder.

To amend sections 1321.01, 1321.57, 1321.58, and 1321.99 of the Revised Code to authorize additional charges under the Consumer Finance Law and to prohibit an automated valuation model provider from reporting a predetermined property valuation.

# H. B. No. 363-Representatives Sayre, Okey.

To enact section 5533.93 of the Revised Code to designate the portion of State Route 800 located within the municipal corporation of Mineral City in Tuscarawas County as the "Sergeant Jeremy D. Barnett Memorial Highway."

Said bills were considered the first time.

### CONSIDERATION OF SENATE AMENDMENTS

The Senate amendments to **Am. Sub. H. B. No. 177**-Representative Blessing, et al., were taken up for consideration.

# Am. Sub. H. B. No. 177-Representative Blessing.

Cosponsors: Representatives Adams, Yuko, Webster. Senators Jacobson, Harris, Amstutz.

To amend sections 2915.01 and 3769.07 and to enact sections 2915.06 and 2915.061 of the Revised Code to allow the same person, association, trust, or corporation to own and operate two separate race tracks in Ohio, to modify the definition of "slot machine" and "skill-based amusement machine" for purposes of the Gambling Law, to create a limit on the redemption value of prizes associated with skill-based amusement machines, and to clarify

regulatory authority pertaining to skill-based amusement machines and to declare an emergency.

The question being, "Shall the emergency clause stand as part of the bill?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 83, nays 13, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Adams Aslanides Bacon Barrett Batchelder Beatty Bolon Book Boyd Brady Brown Bubp Budish Carmichael Celeste Coley Collier Combs DeBose DeGeeter **DeWine** Distel Dodd Dolan Domenick Driehaus Dver Evans Fende Flowers Foley Garrison Gerberry Gibbs Goodwin Goyal Hagan R. Hagan J. Harwood Healy Heard Hite Hottinger Huffman Hughes Jones Koziura Latta Luckie McGregor J. Lundy Mallory McGregor R. Mecklenborg Oelslager Okey Otterman Patton Peterson Redfern Reinhard Schindel Schlichter Sayre Stewart D. Stewart J. Schneider Setzer Strahorn Szollosi Uecker Ujvagi Wagner Wagoner Webster White Williams B. Widener Widowfield Wolpert Husted-83. Zehringer Yates

Those who voted in the negative were: Representatives

Blessing Brinkman Chandler Core
Daniels Fessler Letson Miller
Raussen Skindell Wachtmann Williams S.
Yuko-13.

Having received a constitutional majority, the emergency clause stood as part of the bill.

The question being, "Shall the Senate amendments be concurred in?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 86, nays 10, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Aslanides Bacon Barrett Adams Batchelder Beatty Bolon Book Bubp Brady Brinkman Brown Budish Carmichael Celeste Coley Collier Daniels Combs Core DeBose DeGeeter DeWine Distel Dodd Dolan Driehaus Dyer Evans Fende Flowers Fessler

Garrison Gerberry Gibbs Goodwin Goyal Hagan J. Hagan R. Harwood Healy Heard Hite Hottinger Huffman Hughes Jones Koziura Luckie Lundy Latta Letson Mallory McGregor J. McGregor R. Mecklenborg Oelslager Okey Otterman Patton Peterson Raussen Redfern Reinhard Sayre Schindel Schlichter Schneider Setzer Stewart D. Stewart J. Strahorn Szollosi Uecker Ujvagi Wagner Wagoner Webster White Widener Widowfield Williams B. Wolpert Yates Zehringer Husted-86.

Those who voted in the negative were: Representatives

Blessing Boyd Chandler Domenick
Foley Miller Skindell Wachtmann
Williams S. Yuko-10.

The Senate amendments were concurred in.

# MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Representative Schneider moved that majority party members asking leave to be absent or absent the week of Tuesday, October 23, 2007, be excused, so long as a written request is on file in the majority leadership offices.

The motion was agreed to.

Representative Driehaus moved that minority party members asking leave to be absent or absent the week of Tuesday, October 23, 2007, be excused, so long as a written request is on file in the minority leadership offices.

The motion was agreed to.

# Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to House Rules 13, 28, and 30, the Speaker hereby makes the following changes to the House standing committees:

State Government and Elections: remove Representative J. McGregor; appoint Representative Schneider.

Judiciary: remove Representative Seitz; appoint Representative Flowers.

Civil and Commercial Law: remove Representative Seitz; appoint Representative Mecklenborg.

Public Utilities: remove Representatives Raussen and J. Stewart; appoint Representative Jones (vice-chair), also appoint Representatives Batchelder and Coley.

Health: remove Representative Flowers; appoint Representative Mecklenborg.

Ways and Means: remove Representative Latta; appoint Representative Mecklenborg.

On motion of Representative DeWine, the House adjourned until Thursday, October 25, 2007 at 11:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:

LAURA P. CLEMENS, Clerk.