OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

TUESDAY, APRIL 28, 2009

THIRTY-EIGHTH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Tuesday, April 28, 2009, 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Yates was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

H. B. No. 151-Representatives Pryor, Pillich.

Cosponsors: Representatives Boyd, Dodd, Fende, Hagan, Harwood, Okey, Phillips, Weddington, Williams, B., Yuko.

To enact section 4511.109 of the Revised Code to require the Department of Transportation to install directional and informational signs on state highways to indicate the location of United States Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers, outpatient clinics, and community-based outpatient clinics.

H. B. No. 152-Representative Pryor.

Cosponsors: Representatives Brown, Dodd, Garland, Harris, Harwood, Letson, Phillips, Pillich, Williams, B., Yuko.

To enact sections 4503.548 and 4503.549 of the Revised Code to create the Vietnam Combat Infantry and Combat Medic license plates.

H. B. No. 153-Representative Yuko.

Cosponsors: Representatives Williams, B., Luckie, Hagan, Domenick, Evans, Letson.

To amend sections 109.71, 109.73, and 109.77 and to enact sections 6119.60, 6119.61, 6119.62, 6119.63, and 6119.64 of the Revised Code to authorize regional water and sewer districts to establish police departments.

H. B. No. 154-Representative Yuko.

Cosponsors: Representatives Williams, B., Patten, Luckie, Hagan, Domenick, Stewart, Evans, Winburn.

To amend sections 2921.331, 4510.036, and 4510.31 of the Revised Code to prohibit a person who is not operating a motor vehicle from fleeing from a law enforcement officer who gives a lawful order to stop and to increase the minimum penalty for fleeing and eluding a police officer in a motor vehicle

after receiving a visible or audible signal to stop.

H. B. No. 155-Representative Yuko.

Cosponsors: Representatives Hagan, Domenick, Ujvagi, Boyd.

To amend sections 2915.01 and 2915.091 of the Revised Code to change the definition of "instant bingo ticket dispenser" and to authorize a charitable organization to purchase, lease, and use instant bingo ticket dispensers.

Said bills were considered the first time.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES AND BILLS FOR SECOND CONSIDERATION

Representative Morgan submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Finance and Appropriations to which was referred **H. B. No. 1**-Representative Sykes, having had the same under consideration, reports it back as a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

RE: OPERATING BUDGET FISCAL YEARS 2010-2011

Representative Sykes moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Chandler, Brown, Bolon."

LINDA S. BOLON **VERNON SYKES BARBARA BOYD EDNA BROWN** JOHN PATRICK CARNEY TED CELESTE KATHLEEN CHANDLER DENISE DRIEHAUS STEPHEN DYER LORRAINE M. FENDE JENNIFER GARRISON JAY P. GOYAL CLAYTON LUCKIE STEPHEN SLESNICK PETER S. UJVAGI TYRONE K. YATES

The following members voted "NO"

RON AMSTUTZ

MATTHEW J. DOLAN

BRUCE W. GOODWIN

CHERYL GROSSMAN

RON MAAG

ROSS MCGREGOR

SETH MORGAN

MICHAEL J. SKINDELL

DAVE BURKE

RANDY GARDNER

CLYDE EVANS

DAVE HALL

JEFFREY MCCLAIN

ROBERT MECKLENBORG

BARBARA R. SEARS

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Representative Harwood moved that the following resolution be read by title only and brought up for immediate adoption:

H. R. No. 57–Speaker Budish, Representatives Adams, J., Adams, R., Amstutz, Bacon, Baker, Balderson, Batchelder, Blair, Blessing, Bolon, Book, Boose, Boyd, Brown, Bubp, Burke, Carney, Celeste, Chandler, Coley, Combs, Daniels, DeBose, DeGeeter, Derickson, Dodd, Dolan, Domenick, Driehaus, Dyer, Evans, Fende, Foley, Gardner, Garland, Garrison, Gerberry, Goodwin, Goyal, Grossman, Hackett, Hagan, Hall, Harris, Harwood, Heard, Hite, Hottinger, Huffman, Jones, Jordan, Koziura, Lehner, Letson, Luckie, Lundy, Maag, Mallory, Mandel, Martin, McClain, McGregor, Mecklenborg, Miller, Moran, Morgan, Murray, Newcomb, Oelslager, Okey, Otterman, Patten, Phillips, Pillich, Pryor, Ruhl, Sayre, Schneider, Sears, Skindell, Slesnick, Snitchler, Stautberg, Stebelton, Stewart, Sykes, Szollosi, Uecker, Ujvagi, Wachtmann, Wagner, Weddington, Williams, B., Williams, S., Winburn, Yates, Yuko, Zehringer

Recognizing the Governor's Twenty-ninth Annual Holocaust Commemoration, April 28, 2009.

The motion was agreed to without objection.

The question being, "Shall the resolution be adopted?"

The resolution was adopted.

On motion of Representative Harwood, the House adjourned until Wednesday, April 29, 2009 at 1:30 p.m.

Attest: THOMAS L. SHERMAN,
Clerk.