# OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2009

## ONE HUNDRED THIRD DAY Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio **Thursday, November 5, 2009, 9:00 o'clock a.m.**

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Okey was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of yesterday was read and approved.

# **INTRODUCTION OF BILLS**

The following bill was introduced:

**H. B. No. 353**-Representatives Huffman, Letson. Cosponsors: Representatives Boose, Morgan, Derickson, Uecker, Adams, J., Stebelton.

To amend sections 4511.76 and 4511.761 and to enact section 3327.20 of the Revised Code to authorize school districts to sell commercial advertising space on school buses.

Said bill was considered the first time.

The following joint resolution was introduced:

H. J. R. No. 6-Representative Evans.

Proposing to amend Section 6 of Article XV of the Constitution of the State of Ohio to require the General Assembly to allow casino facilities at locations that the General Assembly designates, to require that licenses for these casino facilities be awarded by competitive bidding by the State Lottery Commission, to generally require voter approval of the operation of a casino facility in the county or municipal corporation in which the casino facility is located, to require that a tax of sixty per cent be levied and collected by the state on all gross casino revenue received by each casino facility operator, and to require that one-half of the proceeds of this tax be used solely for the support of elementary, secondary, vocational, and special education programs as determined in appropriations made by the General Assembly and one-half of the proceeds be used solely for assistance to students at certain institutions of higher education.

Said bill was considered the first time.

#### REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES AND BILLS FOR SECOND CONSIDERATION

Representative Stebelton submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Education to which was referred **H. B. No. 290**-Representatives Bubp, Pryor, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

#### RE: JUNIOR ROTC - OHIO CORE CURRICULUM ELECTIVE

Representative Pryor moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Driehaus, Garland, Gerberry, Harris, Lundy, Moran, Phillips, Weddington, Evans, Hite."

BRIAN G. WILLIAMS	CLAYTON LUCKIE
DENISE DRIEHAUS	NANCY GARLAND
RON GERBERRY	MARIAN HARRIS
MATT LUNDY	MIKE MORAN
DEBBIE PHILLIPS	RAYMOND PRYOR
W. CARLTON WEDDINGTON	GERALD L. STEBELTON
RICHARD ADAMS	NAN BAKER
CLYDE EVANS	CLIFF HITE
MATT HUFFMAN	PEGGY LEHNER
JARROD MARTIN	W. SCOTT OELSLAGER

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

Representative Hottinger submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Insurance to which was referred **H. B. No. 300**-Representatives Dyer, Hottinger, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back with the following amendment and recommends its passage when so amended.

RE: REGULATION OF INSURANCE AGENTS - INSURANCE TAXES REVISE LAW

Representative Dyer moved to amend as follows:

In line 1145, after " <u>section</u>" insert " <u>except any fees collected under</u> <u>divisions (A)(2), (3), and (6) of this section</u>"</u>

The motion was agreed to and the bill so amended.

TRACY HEARD
STEPHEN DYER
TOM LETSON
MATTHEW J. DOLAN
ROBERT HACKETT
JOHN ADAMS

DAN DODD DEBBIE PHILLIPS KRIS JORDAN DAVID DANIELS ROSS MCGREGOR LYNN R. WACHTMANN

# JOHN PATRICK CARNEY JAY HOTTINGER MARK SCHNEIDER

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

# Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 5123.60 (D) of the Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following public members to the Legal Rights Service Commission:

Michael Richards, Peter Sikora, and Joseph Witalec.

## Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 5505.04 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate jointly appoint public member Joseph Thomas to the Ohio Highway Patrol Retirement System Board.

## Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 3306.29 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following public members to the Ohio School Funding Advisory Council:

Dr. George Wood School District Principal

John Pierson School District Treasurer

Dr. Renee Middleton *Representing a College of Education* 

Dr. William Hiller *Representing Philanthropic Organizations* 

Dr. Richard Murray Representing Educational Service Centers

Alan Hutchinson Community School Fiscal Officer

Jan Kennedy Representing Chartered Nonpublic Schools On motion of Representative Book, the House adjourned until Tuesday, November 10, 2009 at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:

THOMAS L. SHERMAN, Clerk.