OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

CORRECTED VERSION TUESDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2010

TWO HUNDRED TWENTY-SIXTH DAY Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, December 7, 2010, 1:00 o'clock p.m.**

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Representative Danny Bubp-88th district, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of yesterday was read and approved.

The following guests of the House of Representatives were recognized by Speaker Budish prior to the commencement of business:

Caleb Spurgeon received H. R. 434, presented by Representative Carney-22nd district.

Bryant Bednarel, a guest of Representative Garland-20th district.

Students from Kent State University, guests of Representative Chandler-68th district.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Representative Szollosi moved that the following resolution be brought up for immediate adoption, read by title only, and spread upon the pages of the journal.

The motion was agreed to.

The question being on the adoption of the resolution, reading as follows:

H. R. No. 435-Speaker Budish, Representative Batchelder.

Relative to travel allowance.

WHEREAS, Section 101.27 of the Revised Code provides that each member receive a travel reimbursement based upon the mileage from and to the member's place of residence, by the most direct highway route of public travel to and from the seat of government; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Clerk or Deputy Clerk of the House of Representatives is hereby authorized to pay the following members travel allowance based upon their round trip mileage as set opposite their names and district numbers:

Member's NameDistrict NumberRound Trip MileageJoshua O'Farrell96238

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 90, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Adams J. Adams R. Amstutz Bacon Baker Balderson Batchelder Beck Belcher Bolon Blair Blessing Book Boose Brown Bubp Burke Carney Celeste Chandler Coley Daniels DeGeeter Combs Derickson Dodd Domenick Driehaus Dyer Evans Fende Gardner Garland Goodwin Gerberry Grossman Hackett Hall Harris Harwood Hollington Heard Hite Hottinger Huffman Jordan Koziura Lehner Letson Luckie Lundy Maag Mallory McClain McGregor Martin Mecklenborg Moran Morgan Murray Newcomb O'Farrell Oelslager Okey Otterman Phillips Pillich Pryor Sears Reece Ruhl Schneider Slesnick Snitchler Stautberg Stebelton Stewart Sykes Szollosi Uecker Weddington Wachtmann Wagner Walter Williams S. Williams B. Winburn Yuko Budish-90. Zehringer

The resolution was adopted.

Representative Szollosi moved that the following resolution be brought up for immediate adoption, read by title only, and spread upon the pages of the journal.

The motion was agreed to.

The question being on the adoption of the resolution, reading as follows:

H. R. No. 441-Speaker Budish.

Relative to the election of Larry Woodford to fill the vacancy in the membership of the House of Representatives created by the resignation of Jennifer Garrison of the 93rd House District

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted - yeas 46, nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Representatives

Bolon	Book	Brown
Celeste	Chandler	DeGeeter
Domenick	Driehaus	Dyer
Garland	Gerberry	Hagan
Harwood	Heard	Koziura
Luckie	Lundy	Mallory
	Celeste Domenick Garland Harwood	Celeste Chandler Domenick Driehaus Garland Gerberry Harwood Heard

Moran Murray Newcomb O'Farrell Okey Otterman **Phillips** Pillich Pryor Schneider Slesnick Reece Walter Stewart Sykes Szollosi Weddington Williams B. Williams S. Winburn Yuko Budish-46.

The resolution was adopted.

Mr. Woodford was escorted to the bar of the House by Representatives Szollosi, Phillips, Heard, Balderson, Hall, and J. Adams, took the oath of office administered by The Honorable Armond Budish, Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives, and entered upon the discharge of his duties.

State of Ohio County of Franklin

I, Larry Woodford, do solemnly swear to support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Ohio, and faithfully to discharge and perform all duties incumbent upon me as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives, according to the best of my ability and understanding; and this I do as I shall answer unto God.

/s/ LARRY WOODFORD

Larry Woodford

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 7th day of December, 2010.

/s/ ARMOND BUDISH

Armond Budish Speaker Ohio House of Representatives

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to House Rules 13, 28, and 30, the Speaker hereby makes changes to the following committees:

Commerce and Labor: remove Representative Patten; appoint Representative Murray.

Elections and Ethics: remove Representative Garrison; appoint Representative Celeste.

Local Government and Public Administration: remove Representative Weddington; appoint Representative Bolon.

Finance and Appropriations Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education: remove Representative Garrison; appoint Representative Phillips.

Rules and Reference: remove Representative Boyd; appoint Representative O'Farrell.

CLERK'S NOTATION

Pursuant to House Rule No. 87 of the 128th General Assembly, Representative Bubp moved to discharge the Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee from further consideration of S. B. No. 247, which was referred to said committee on June 1, 2010.

This motion was properly supported by the following members:

TODD SNITCHLER RICHARD ADAMS DANNY R. BUBP JAY HOTTINGER **DAVE BURKE** LYNN R. WACHTMANN TERRY BOOSE W. SCOTT OELSLAGER JOHN ADAMS DAVE HALL BARBARA R. SEARS TROY BALDERSON TERRY BLAIR **KEVIN BACON CLIFF HITE** JOSHUA O'FARRELL **DAVID DANIELS** KRIS JORDAN **PEGGY LEHNER** RON AMSTUTZ LOUIS W. BLESSING DAN DODD MATT HUFFMAN JAMES ZEHRINGER **SETH MORGAN** TIMOTHY DERICKSON JOSEPH W. UECKER CHERYL GROSSMAN RANDY GARDNER ROBERT HACKETT

ROBERT MECKLENBORG **COURTNEY COMBS** JARROD MARTIN GERALD L. STEBELTON LINDA S. BOLON RON MAAG PETER STAUTBERG STEPHEN DYER LORRAINE M. FENDE DEBORAH NEWCOMB JEFF WAGNER JEFFREY MCCLAIN **MATT PATTEN** PETER BECK BRUCE W. GOODWIN **CLYDE EVANS** JOSH MANDEL MARGARET RUHL WILLIAM G. BATCHELDER **BILL COLEY**

Said signatures were verified on this 7th day of December, 2010.

Attest: THOMAS L. SHERMAN,
Clerk.

CLERK'S NOTATION

Pursuant to House Rule No. 87 of the 128th General Assembly, Representative Bubp moved to discharge the Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee from further consideration of S. B. No. 239, which was referred to said committee on June 1, 2010.

This motion was properly supported by the following members:

TODD SNITCHLER RICHARD ADAMS DANNY R. BUBP JAY HOTTINGER **DAVE BURKE** LYNN R. WACHTMANN **TERRY BOOSE** W. SCOTT OELSLAGER JOHN ADAMS DAVE HALL TROY BALDERSON BARBARA R. SEARS **KEVIN BACON** TERRY BLAIR **CLIFF HITE** JOSHUA O'FARRELL **DAVID DANIELS** KRIS JORDAN PEGGY LEHNER RON AMSTUTZ LOUIS W. BLESSING DAN DODD **MATT HUFFMAN** JAMES ZEHRINGER SETH MORGAN TIMOTHY DERICKSON JOSEPH W. UECKER CHERYL GROSSMAN RANDY GARDNER ROBERT HACKETT

ROBERT MECKLENBORG COURTNEY COMBS JARROD MARTIN GERALD L. STEBELTON **RON MAAG** LINDA S. BOLON PETER STAUTBERG STEPHEN DYER LORRAINE M. FENDE DEBORAH NEWCOMB JEFF WAGNER JEFFREY MCCLAIN **MATT PATTEN** PETER BECK BRUCE W. GOODWIN **CLYDE EVANS** JOSH MANDEL MARGARET RUHL WILLIAM G. BATCHELDER **BILL COLEY**

Said signatures were verified on this 7th day of December, 2010.

Attest: THOMAS L. SHERMAN, Clerk.

2996

HOUSE JOURNAL, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2010

On motion of Representative Szollosi, the House adjourned until Wednesday, December 8, 2010 at 1:30 p.m.

Attest:

THOMAS L. SHERMAN,

Clerk.