OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

THURSDAY, JANUARY 13, 2011

FOURTH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Thursday, January 13, 2011, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Stautberg was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

H. B. No. 19-Representative Goodwin.

Cosponsors: Representatives Gerberry, Stebelton, Maag, McClain, Derickson.

To enact section 317.06 of the Revised Code to require county recorders to complete continuing education requirements.

H. B. No. 20-Representatives Burke, Letson.

Cosponsors: Representatives Amstutz, Boose, Derickson, Gardner, Grossman, Murray, Pillich, Snitchler, Stautberg, Stinziano.

To amend section 2921.04 of the Revised Code to specify that the offense of intimidation of an attorney, victim, or witness in a criminal case also applies to delinquency cases and to any attempt to influence, intimidate, or hinder a witness to a criminal or delinquent act and to create an affirmative defense to a charge of intimidation of an attorney, victim, or witness in a criminal case.

H. B. No. 21-Representative Combs.

To amend sections 3314.013, 3314.014, 3314.016, 3314.02, 3314.021, 3314.03, 3314.05, 3319.22, 3319.223, and 3319.61 and to enact section 3319.227 of the Revised Code to allow new Internet- or computer-based community schools to open under certain conditions, to require the use of student performance data in evaluating teachers and principals for licensure, and to qualify Teach for America participants for a professional educator license.

H. B. No. 22-Representative Bubp.

To amend sections 951.02, 951.10, and 951.99 of the Revised Code regarding the liability of owners of certain animals that are running at large.

Said bills were considered the first time.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 3379.02 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio Arts Council:

Representatives Mecklenborg and Budish.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 101.35 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review:

Representatives McGregor (Chair), Hayes, Duffey, Carney, and Williams.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 101.34(A) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Joint Legislative Ethics Committee:

Representatives Batchelder, Blessing, Huffman, Budish, Szollosi, and Heard.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 103.71 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Correctional Institution Inspection Committee:

Representatives Beck, Hackett, Garland, and Weddington.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 101.39(A)(B) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Joint Legislative Committee on Health Care Oversight:

Representatives Wachtmann, Sears, Burke, Boyd, and O'Brien.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 101.37(A) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Joint Council on Developmental Disabilities:

Representatives Gonzales, McClain, and Antonio.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 125.833(A)(B) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Vehicle Management Commission:

Representatives Balderson and Barnes.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 3701.78(A) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Commission on Minority Health:

Representatives Duffey and Winburn.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 3318.30(A)(B) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio School Facilities Commission:

Representatives Johnson and Gentile.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Sections 6161.01, Article IV(A), and 6161.02 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints Representative Boose to the Great Lakes Commission and Great Lakes Basin Compact.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 105.41(A)(2) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board:

Speaker Batchelder, Representative Slesnick, and Jo Ann Davidson.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 103.11 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio Legislative Service Commission:

Speaker Batchelder, Representatives Blessing, Huffman, Grossman, Amstutz, Budish, and Goyal.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 4906.02(A) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Power Siting Board:

Representatives Blessing and Goyal.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 148.02 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints Representative Hottinger to the Ohio Public Employees Deferred Compensation Board.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 171.01(B) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio Retirement Study Council:

Representatives Wachtmann, Schuring, and Ramos.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 4121.75 of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Workers' Compensation Council:

Representatives Wachtmann, Balderson, and Letson.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 183.12(E)(F) of Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation Board of Trustees:

Representatives Rosenberger and Mallory.

Message from the Speaker

Pursuant to Section 3 of Am. H. B. 416, 127th General Assembly, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Great Lakes – St. Lawrence River Basin Water Resources Compact Advisory Board:

Representatives Boose and Murray.

Clerk's Notation

This is to acknowledge receipt from the Supreme Court of Ohio, on January 05, 2011, of amendments to the Ohio Rules of Appellate Procedure, Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, Ohio Rules of Criminal Procedure, Ohio Rules of Evidence, and the Ohio Rules of Juvenile Procedure.

On motion of Representative Balderson, the House adjourned until Tuesday, January 18, 2011 at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest: LAURA P. CLEMENS,
Clerk.