# OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

**WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 18, 2013** 

# ONE HUNDRED FOURTH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Brenner was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

# INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

### **H. B. No. 388**-Representative Budish.

Cosponsors: Representatives Wachtmann, Ramos, Gerberry, Barborak, Antonio, Lundy, Blessing, Boyd, Sheehy, Fedor.

To enact section 5533.041 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of United States Route 20 and certain streets in Painesville as the "James A. Garfield State Historic Corridor."

# **H. B. No. 389**-Representative Phillips.

Cosponsors: Representatives Antonio, Barborak, Blair, Carney, Cera, Clyde, Driehaus, Fedor, Foley, Gerberry, Heard, Letson, Lundy, O'Brien, Patterson, Redfern, Reece, Rogers, Sheehy, Slesnick, Strahorn, Stinziano, Williams.

To enact section 5533.581 of the Revised Code to designate the portion of United States Route 33 known as the Nelsonville Bypass in Hocking County and Athens County the "Governor Ted Strickland Highway."

# H. B. No. 390-Representatives Brenner, Young.

Cosponsors: Representatives Becker, Derickson, Roegner, Hood, Buchy, Stebelton, Reece, Blessing, Burkley, Retherford, Grossman, Terhar.

To amend sections 5725.98, 5726.98, 5729.98, and 5747.98 and to enact section 3701.88 of the Revised Code to authorize nonrefundable tax credits for donations to free clinics.

# **H. B. No. 391**-Representative Ramos.

Cosponsors: Representatives Rogers, Driehaus, Lundy, Henne, Phillips, Sheehy, Hagan, R., Reece, Slesnick, Becker, Wachtmann, Roegner, Blessing, Milkovich, Adams, J., Brenner, Blair, Antonio, Maag, Foley.

To amend section 4301.01 and to enact section 4301.71 of the Revised Code to allow beer manufacturers to manufacture beer containing not more

than 21% of alcohol by volume beginning on the effective date of this act, and, beginning one year after the effective date of this act, to allow the sale and distribution of beer containing not more than 21% of alcohol by volume in this state by increasing the legally permitted alcohol content of beer from 12% to 21% and to generally prohibit the inclusion of caffeine or other stimulants in beer containing more than 12% of alcohol by volume.

**H. B. No. 392**-Representatives Stinziano, Rosenberger. Cosponsors: Representatives Dovilla, Fedor, Ramos, Reece, Sheehy, Stebelton.

To amend sections 4301.631, 4301.69, and 4301.691 and to enact section 4301.79 of the Revised Code to provide persons under 21 years of age with a qualified immunity from prosecution for offenses involving underage alcohol possession or consumption if law enforcement personnel become aware of the offense solely because the person sought or obtained medical assistance, solely because another individual sought or obtained medical assistance for the person, or because the person requested law enforcement assistance to report a criminal offense, prevent a possible criminal offense, or request the investigation of a criminal offense.

**H. B. No. 393**-Representatives Baker, Landis. Cosponsors: Representatives Blessing, Milkovich, Romanchuk, Reece, Hagan, C., Anielski.

To amend sections 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24 and to enact section 3313.89 of the Revised Code to require public high schools to publish annually a career decision guide in its newsletter or on its web site.

Said bills were considered the first time.

### MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 103.63, the Speaker hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission for a term beginning on January 1, 2014:

Speaker Batchelder and Representatives Huffman and Amstutz.

On motion of Representative Henne, the House adjourned until Monday, December 23, 2013 at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:	DUSTIN RUSSELL,
	Reading/Committee Clerk