OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

FRIDAY, JANUARY 11, 2013

SECOND DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Friday, January 11, 2013, 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Peterson was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 3-Senators Hughes, Bacon.

Honoring Justice Evelyn Lundberg Stratton on her retirement.

S. R. No. 4-Senator Patton.

Honoring Flexible Pavements of Ohio on its Fiftieth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 5-Senators Balderson, Gentile.

Honoring Third Sun Solar on receiving a Summer 2012 People and Planet Award.

S. R. No. 6-Senator Beagle.

Honoring Sam Wharton on placing first at the 2012 Nike Nationals cross country competition in Portland.

S. R. No. 7-Senator Beagle.

Honoring the Miami East High School girls volleyball team on winning the 2012 Division III State Championship.

S. R. No. 8-Senators Brown, Gardner.

Honoring the Toledo Central Catholic High School football team on winning the 2012 Division II State Championship.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate makes the following appointments to the following Standing Committees:

Agriculture

Hite, Chair

Balderson, Vice Chair

Burke

LaRose

Manning

Peterson

Gentile, Ranking Minority

Cafaro

Smith

Civil Justice

Coley, Chair

Obhof, Vice Chair

Bacon

Eklund

Oelslager

Seitz

Uecker

Brown, Ranking Minority

Skindell

Turner

Commerce & Labor

Bacon, Chair

Eklund, Vice Chair

Jones

Jordan

Oelslager

Seitz

Uecker

Brown, Ranking Minority

Schiavoni

Turner

Criminal Justice

Eklund, Chair

Seitz, Vice Chair

Hughes

LaRose

Lehner

Obhof

Schaffer

Schiavoni, Ranking Minority

Sawyer

Smith

Education

Lehner, Chair

Hite, Vice Chair

Balderson

Beagle

Coley

Gardner

Manning

Sawyer, Ranking Minority

Schiavoni

Turner

Energy & Natural Resources

Balderson, Chair

Jordan, Vice Chair

Eklund

Hite

Patton

Peterson

Schaffer

Uecker

Schiavoni, Ranking Minority

Cafaro

Gentile

Finance

Oelslager, Chair

Coley, Vice Chair

Burke

Gardner

Hughes

Jones

LaRose

Patton

Peterson

Sawyer, Ranking Minority

Smith

Schiavoni

Tavares

Insurance & Financial Institutions

Hughes, Chair

Bacon, Vice Chair

Beagle

Burke

Hite

Jones

Manning

Obhof

Peterson

Turner, Ranking Minority

Brown

Gentile

Skindell

Medicaid, Health & Human Services

Jones, Chair

Burke, Vice Chair

Gardner

Jordan

Lehner

Oelslager

Cafaro, Ranking Minority

Brown

Tavares

Public Safety, Local Government & Veterans Affairs

LaRose, Chair

Hughes, Vice Chair

Bacon

Jordan

Patton

Schaffer

Uecker

Skindell, Ranking Minority

Brown

Tavares

Public Utilities

Seitz, Chair

LaRose, Vice Chair

Balderson

Coley

Eklund

Hite

Jones

Patton

Uecker

Gentile, Ranking Minority

Cafaro

Sawyer

Smith

Reference

Jordan, Chair

Oelslager, Vice Chair

Bacon

Faber

Gardner

Patton

Widener

Kearney, Ranking Minority

Gentile

Schiavoni

Rules

Faber, Chair

Widener, Vice Chair

Burke

Coley

Hughes

Obhof

Oelslager

Patton

Kearney, Ranking Minority

Brown

Schiavoni

Turner

State Government Oversight & Reform

Burke, Chair

Uecker, Vice Chair

Bacon

Coley

LaRose

Obhof

Seitz

Widener

Smith, Ranking Minority

Brown

Skindell

Transportation

Manning, Chair

Patton, Vice Chair

Balderson

Gardner

LaRose

Seitz

Cafaro, Ranking Minority

Gentile

Turner

Ways & Means

Schaffer, Chair

Peterson, Vice Chair

Beagle

Eklund

Hite

Obhof

Widener

Tavares, Ranking Minority

Cafaro

Skindell

Workforce & Economic Development

Beagle, Chair

Manning, Vice Chair

Balderson

Gardner

Lehner

Schaffer

Widener

Tavares, Ranking Minority

Schiavoni

Skindell

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Controlling Board:

Senator Bill Coley Senator Chris Widener

Senator Tom Sawyer

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 101.35 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review:

Senator Bob Peterson, Vice-Chair Senator Frank LaRose Senator Joe Uecker Senator Michael Skindell Senator Charleta Tavares

On the motion of Senator Widener, the Senate adjourned until Tuesday, January 15, 2013 at 11:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:	VINCENT L. KEERAN,
	Clerk.