As Introduced

128th General Assembly Regular Session 2009-2010

H. C. R. No. 10

Representatives Snitchler, Slesnick

Cosponsors: Representatives Oelslager, Okey, Blair, Huffman, Evans, Gardner, Adams, R., Balderson, Otterman, Williams, B., Harwood, Letson, Mecklenborg, Skindell, Garrison, Yates

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

То	urge the 111th Congress of the United States to]
	enact H.R. 229, which provides for the retention	2
	of the name of Mount McKinley.	3

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE SENATE CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, President William McKinley, a native of Ohio, was	4	
the state's governor and represented Ohio in Congress prior to	5	
serving as the 25th President of the United States from 1897 to	6	
1901. Those years were a time of great change and transition for	7	
the United States, and, during his administration, the country	8	
began to emerge as a world power; and	9	
WHEREAS, Mount McKinley, named after the President in 1897,	10	
is part of the 600-mile-long Yukon Range and the Alaska sub-range.	11	
At 20,320 feet, Mount McKinley is North America's highest peak;	12	
and	13	
WHEREAS, The name Mount McKinley has a special cultural and	14	
historical significance not just for the State of Ohio, but for	15	
the United States. However, since 1980, there has been a movement	16	
to rename Mount McKinley "Mount Denali"; and		

H. C. R. No. 10 As Introduced	Page 2
WHEREAS, It is extremely important that the mountain's name	18
should be retained not only to honor the life and service of its	19
namesake, but also to preserve the significance and grandeur of	20
this majestic national landmark and natural wonder; now therefore	21
be it	22
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 128th General Assembly	23
of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United States to	
enact H.R. 229, which provides for the retention of the name of	
Mount McKinley; and be it further	
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives	27
transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the	28
Speaker and Clerk of the United States House of Representatives,	
the President Pro Tempore and Secretary of the United States	
Senate, the members of the Ohio Congressional delegation, and the	31

32

news media of Ohio.