SPEAKER BUDISH

Honoring the 2009 recipients of the University System of Ohio Faculty Innovator Awards.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Ohio:

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate the 2009 Class of University System of Ohio Faculty Innovator Award recipients; and

WHEREAS, The high cost of instructional materials can be a prohibitive factor for students in higher education, and as a measure to stimulate the development of affordable instructional materials for students at University System of Ohio institutions, Eric D. Fingerhut, chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents, established the Faculty Innovator Awards in 2008. These awards recognize outstanding instructors at USO institutions across the State of Ohio who have been innovative in using digital content in their courses, especially in the creation of on-line textbooks, that lowers expenses for their students; and

WHEREAS, The Faculty Innovator Awards program is deserving of high praise, and the 2009 recipients include Robert Huber, Jason Abbitt, Michele Dickey, Bonnie Kirkpatrick, Janet E. Hurn, Bruce Weide, Tim Long, Marc Smith, Nick Reeder, Mark Thomas, and Charles Savage. They have set examples worthy of emulation by utilizing a new era of learning materials, and their accomplishments are truly noteworthy; and

WHEREAS, Education is vital to our nation's continued economic and social well-being, and as the need for global learning and understanding increases, so do the demands placed upon our system of education. We are certain that in the years to come, the USO Faculty Innovator Award recipients will continue to help curb the cost of higher education through the use of digital content; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the House of Representatives of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend the University System of Ohio Faculty Innovator Awards and salute its recipients as fine Ohioans; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit duly authenticated copies of this Resolution to Chancellor Eric D. Fingerhut and the University System of Ohio.