SPEAKER BUDISH

Honoring the 2009 Ohio Senior Citizens Hall of Fame inductees and Elder Caregiving Award recipients.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Ohio:

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate the 2009 Ohio Senior Citizens Hall of Fame inductees and Elder Caregiving Award recipients; and

WHEREAS, May is Older Americans Month, and each year during this time, the Ohio Department of Aging sponsors the Ohio Senior Citizens Hall of Fame and Elder Caregiving Awards; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1978, the Ohio Senior Citizens Hall of Fame recognizes the exemplary contributions of older adults from across the state. This year's inductees include Frank Ashton, Omer Blodgett, Barbara Condo, Jean Palmer, Glenn Devers, Jacob Frowine, Mary Jane Hawk, Martha Pemberton, Edna D. Pincham, the late Clarence Reich, the late John Schoedinger, Daisy Smith, and William Wynne, for they have made a positive difference in their communities; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1993, the Elder Caregiving Awards recognize individuals who are committed to providing personal care to their family members, friends, and neighbors. This year's recipients include Camilla Bennett, Leroy Carbaugh, Anita Chambers, Donald "Boze" Fasig, Joyce Henning, Norma Lusk, Lois Maier, Margaret May, Neisel Palmer, Karen Prouty, Patty Snyder, Donna Sullivan, and Gary, Joy, and Faith Ferkel for their unfaltering commitment to others; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the House of Representatives of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend the 2009 Ohio Senior Citizens Hall of Fame inductees and Elder Caregiving Award recipients for outstanding achievement; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit duly authenticated copies of this Resolution to the Ohio Department of Aging and to the news media of Ohio.