SENATOR HUGHES

Honoring the Bishop Watterson High School field hockey team on winning the 2009 State Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate the Bishop Watterson High School field hockey team as the 2009 State Champion; and

WHEREAS, A remarkable group of young athletes, the members of the Bishop Watterson High School field hockey team have combined talent and competitive spirit with the highest ideals of good sportsmanship to establish themselves as a truly exceptional squad. With admirable dedication, the Eagles have worked diligently toward attaining ultimate proficiency in field hockey, and as a result, they defeated a tough Columbus Academy team by the score of 1-0 to win this year's State Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles' achievements and leadership are a justifiable source of pride and an excellent reflection on the players, their families, their school, their community, and their head coach, Janet Baird. The maturity and experience the team members have gained through participation in sports will greatly aid them in meeting the challenges of the future; and

WHEREAS, The Bishop Watterson High School field hockey team has exemplified the qualities necessary for excellence in sports, including dedication, self-discipline, leadership, and perseverance. Throughout long hours of practice and preparation, the Eagles have demonstrated talent and motivation, and they merit high praise; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend the Bishop Watterson High School field hockey team on a tremendous season and extent best wishes for ongoing success; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Bishop Watterson High School field hockey team.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 121, adopted by the Ohio Senate, November 16, 2009.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Jim Hughes Senatorial District No. 16