## SENATORS HUGHES - GOODMAN - MILLER, R. - BUEHRER - CAFARO - CAREY - CATES -COUGHLIN - FABER - FEDOR - GIBBS - GILLMOR - GRENDELL - HARRIS - HUGHES - HUSTED -JONES - KEARNEY - MILLER, D. - MORANO - NIEHAUS - PATTON - SAWYER - SCHAFFER -SCHIAVONI - SCHURING - SEITZ - SMITH - STEWART - STRAHORN - TURNER - WAGONER -WIDENER - WILSON

## Honoring The Ohio State University football team on winning the 2009 Big Ten Conference Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to extend special recognition to The Ohio State University football team as the 2009 Big Ten Conference Champion; and

WHEREAS, Under the capable leadership of Coach Jim Tressel, The Ohio State University football team has proven to be a talented and superbly conditioned squad and has gained the respect of fans and opponents alike for the spirited and highly motivated play of its members. Throughout the season, each player worked diligently to improve his skills on the gridiron, and as a result, the Buckeyes accomplished their goals, compiling a 7-1 league record to bring home their fifth consecutive Big Ten Conference Championship title and a berth in the 2010 Rose Bowl; and

WHEREAS, Known as a driven and determined team, the Ohio State Buckeyes have developed into a remarkably efficient group of athletes whose abilities are equaled only by their exemplary display of teamwork and sportsmanship. They are a credit not only to their families and their school but also to the superb coaching of their mentor, Jim Tressel; and

WHEREAS, The road to victory and a championship title is a difficult one, requiring agility, endurance, cooperation, and a positive attitude on the part of players and coaches alike. The members of The Ohio State University football team have exemplified all of the characteristics that are essential for success both in and out of athletic competition, including courage, discipline, and integrity, and their efforts have earned them the admiration of all those who have witnessed these outstanding athletes in action; therefore be it

**RESOLVED,** That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate The Ohio State University football team on winning the 2009 Big Ten Conference Championship and commend all those associated with this exceptional squad; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to The Ohio State University football team.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 154, adopted by the Ohio Senate, January 28, 2010.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Jim Hughes Senatorial District No. 16

Senator David Goodman Senatorial District No. 3

Senator Ray Miller Senatorial District No. 15