SENATOR GILLMOR

Honoring Margo Geer as one of the Top 50 Ohio High School Athletes of the Decade.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate Margo Geer on being listed number twenty-four among the Top 50 Ohio High School Athletes of the Decade 1999-2009 by JJHuddle; and

WHEREAS, A senior at Fairbanks High School, Margo Geer is deserving of this distinguished honor for her remarkable accomplishments in swimming. An exemplary athlete, she won the 2010 Division II State Championships in the 50- and 100-yard freestyle races to become the first swimmer in Ohio history to win two events at the state meet four times, and she holds state records in both events. Her noteworthy record of personal achievement stands as a hallmark for others to emulate; and

WHEREAS, Through her participation in sports, Margo Geer has learned important lessons of discipline, perseverance, hard work, and good sportsmanship that will undoubtedly be of great benefit to her throughout her life. Through her outstanding efforts, she has inspired countless individuals to excel in various areas of endeavor, and she has set an example worthy of recognition; and

WHEREAS, In a society that seeks to teach the future leaders of our state and nation the fundamentals of self-reliance and the rewards of individual effort, athletic competition has become a valuable educational tool. With athletics playing such an important part in the development of our young people, we are extremely pleased to pay tribute to such a fine athlete as Margo Geer; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, applaud Margo Geer on her recent accolade and extend best wishes for continued success; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Margo Geer.

true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 185, adopted by the Ohio Senate, March 23, 2010.	
	Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate
	Senator Bill Harris
	President of the Senate Senator Karen L. Gillmor Senate District No. 26