SENATORS HUGHES - GOODMAN - MILLER, R.

Honoring The Ohio State University women's basketball team as the 2010 Big Ten Conference Champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to pay tribute to The Ohio State University women's basketball team on winning the 2010 Big Ten Conference Championship; and

WHEREAS, Under the capable leadership of Coach Jim Foster, The Ohio State University women's basketball team has proven to be a talented and superbly conditioned squad and has gained the respect of fans and opponents alike for the spirited and highly motivated play of its members. Throughout the season, each player worked diligently to improve her skills on the court, and as a result, the Lady Buckeyes won their sixth consecutive Big Ten Conference regular-season championship and the 2010 Big Ten Conference Tournament Championship, secured a berth in the prestigious NCAA Tournament, and finished the season with a 31-5 overall record; and

WHEREAS, Known as a driven and determined team, the Lady Buckeyes have developed into a remarkably efficient group of athletes whose abilities are equaled only by their exemplary display of teamwork and sportsmanship. They are a credit not only to their families and their school but also to the superb coaching of their mentor, Jim Foster, and his assistants; and

WHEREAS, The road to victory is a difficult one, requiring agility, endurance, cooperation, and a positive attitude on the part of players and coaches alike. The members of The Ohio State University women's basketball team have exemplified all of the characteristics that are essential for success both in and out of athletic competition, including courage, discipline, and integrity, and their efforts have earned them the admiration of all those who have witnessed these outstanding athletes in action; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate The Ohio State University women's basketball team on its accomplishments and commend all those associated with this exceptional squad; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to The Ohio State University women's basketball team.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 195, adopted by the Ohio Senate, April 6, 2010.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Jim Hughes Senate District No. 16

Senator David Goodman

Senate District No. 3

Senator Ray Miller Senate District No. 15