SENATOR SCHURING

Honoring Devin Smith as a 2010 Division I State Track and Field Champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to commend Devin Smith on winning the 2010 Division I State Championship in the long jump; and

WHEREAS, A junior at Massillon Washington High School, Devin Smith is deserving of recognition for his exemplary accomplishments in track and field. An exceptional athlete, he won this year's Division I State Championship in the long jump with a leap of 23 feet, 4.5 inches, and his noteworthy record of personal achievement stands as a hallmark for others to emulate; and

WHEREAS, Through his participation in sports, Devin Smith has learned important lessons of discipline, perseverance, hard work, and good sportsmanship that will undoubtedly be of great benefit to him throughout his life. Through his outstanding efforts, he has inspired countless individuals to excel in various areas of endeavor, and he has made his family, coaches, and community very proud; and

WHEREAS, In a society that seeks to teach the future leaders of our state and nation the fundamentals of self-reliance and the rewards of individual effort, athletic competition has become a valuable educational tool. With athletics playing such an important part in the development of our young people, we are extremely pleased to pay tribute to such a fine athlete as Devin Smith; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate Devin Smith on his personal success and salute him as an outstanding young Ohioan; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Devin Smith.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 263, adopted by the Ohio Senate, June 29, 2010.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Kirk Schuring Senate District 29