## SENATOR PATTON

## Honoring the Independence High School boys cross country team as the 2010 Division III State Champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate the Independence High School boys cross country team on winning the 2010 Division III State Championship; and

WHEREAS, With athletic competition playing such an important role in the total education of our young people, we are extremely pleased to pay tribute to the members of the Independence High School boys cross country team for their superlative showings. Throughout long hours of practice and competition, they have consistently demonstrated the talent and motivation that are the hallmarks of true champions; and

WHEREAS, The Blue Devils' achievements and leadership are a justifiable source of pride and an excellent reflection on the members, their families, their school, their community, and their coach. Under the able guidance of Coach Craig Polman, the squad won its second consecutive Division III State title, scoring 85 points to defeat several fine teams; and

WHEREAS, The runners have displayed great confidence and superior endurance, and their success is truly praiseworthy. The maturity and experience the team members have gained through their participation in sports will undoubtedly assist them in meeting upcoming challenges; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend the Independence High School boys cross country team on its tremendous season and salute the members and coach as some of Ohio's finest citizens; and be it further

**RESOLVED**, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Independence High School boys cross country team.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 318, adopted by the Ohio Senate, November 29, 2010.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Thomas F. Patton Senate District 24