## SENATORS WAGONER - CAFARO - FEDOR

## Honoring Lloyd C. Mahaffey on his retirement.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to extend special recognition to Lloyd C. Mahaffey on the occasion of his retirement as director of Region 2B of the United Autoworkers of America; and

WHEREAS, Throughout Lloyd Mahaffey's distinguished service as director of Region 2B, he has demonstrated an unwavering dedication to performing his duties and fulfilling his responsibilities with the utmost efficiency and competence. A member of the UAW since 1962, Lloyd Mahaffey is serving his third term as director, and he has been instrumental in contract negotiations that have benefited the members and in helping the union become a progressive and forward-thinking group that is committed to meeting the ever-changing needs of its members; and

WHEREAS, In addition, Lloyd Mahaffey is a member of the NAACP, the Old Newsboys, the Toledo Labor-Management-Citizens Committee and Center of Science and Industry boards, and the Ohio Democratic Party Executive and Democratic National committees, and he has earned the appreciation and admiration of all those with whom he has been associated. To his credit, he has the satisfaction of knowing that he provided a vital service to the community and established a record of achievement that will stand as a hallmark for others to emulate; and

WHEREAS, In the wake of Lloyd Mahaffey's retirement, he can be assured that his contributions will not be forgotten. Indeed, he will be sorely missed; therefore be it

**RESOLVED,** That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate Lloyd C. Mahaffey on his retirement and extend best wishes for peace and prosperity in the future; and be it further

**RESOLVED**, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Lloyd C. Mahaffey.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 57, adopted by the Ohio Senate, May 19, 2009.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Mark Wagoner Senatorial District No. 2

Senator Capri S. Cafaro Senatorial District No. 32

Senator Teresa Fedor Senatorial District No. 11