## As Reported by the Senate Rules and Reference Committee

## 129th General Assembly Regular Session 2011-2012

H. C. R. No. 25

## Speaker Batchelder

## RESOLUTION

Honoring the Ohio Statehouse on the memorable occasion of its Sesquicentennial.

WHEREAS, The members of the 129th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to commend the Ohio Statehouse on its One Hundred Fiftieth Anniversary, celebrated November 15, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Recognition of this prestigious milestone is a fitting tribute to the Ohio Statehouse, for throughout the last century and a half, this fine building has been invaluable to the residents of the State of Ohio. With the passage of the Statehouse Act of 1838, the first cornerstone was laid on July 4, 1839, and construction lasted twenty-two years, resulting in the democratic epicenter of Ohio; and

WHEREAS, Constructed under such architects as Henry Walter, Alexander J. Davis, Nathan Kelley, and Isaiah Rogers and in the Greek Classical Revival style with Columbus limestone, the Ohio Statehouse is now recognized for its architectural significance through its designation as a National Historic Landmark. This Sesquicentennial celebration is a justifiable source of pride and an excellent reflection not only on the Statehouse itself but also on the State of Ohio; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, the Statehouse has enhanced the effectiveness of the legislative process, and it has earned a prominent place in Ohio history. This well-known structure has come to represent democracy at its best, and we are certain that,

in the years to come, it will continue to be a symbol of the tenets of Ohio's legislative system; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 129th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate the Ohio Statehouse on the Sesquicentennial of its completion and salute all those participating in the commemoration of this memorable event; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit duly authenticated copies of this Resolution to the Ohio Senate, to the Ohio House of Representatives, and to the news media of Ohio.