As Adopted by the House

129th General Assembly Regular Session 2011-2012

S. C. R. No. 30

Senators Widener, Kearney

Cosponsors: Senators Tavares, Seitz, Bacon, Balderson, Beagle, Brown, Burke, Coley, Eklund, Gentile, Jones, LaRose, Lehner, Manning, Obhof, Oelslager, Sawyer, Schaffer, Schiavoni, Smith, Turner, Wagoner
Representatives Heard, Ramos, Antonio, Barnes, Beck, Blair, Boose, Boyce,
Bubp, Budish, Carney, Celebrezze, Celeste, Combs, Damschroder, DeVitis, Driehaus, Duffey, Fedor, Fende, Garland, Gerberry, Gonzales, Goyal, Grossman, Hackett, Hall, Huffman, Kozlowski, Letson, Lundy, Lynch,
Mallory, Martin, McClain, Milkovich, Murray, Newbold, O'Brien, Patmon,
Pelanda, Phillips, Pillich, Reece, Schuring, Smith, Sprague, Stautberg, Stebelton, Stinziano, Sykes, Uecker, Williams, Winburn, Young

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To designate Central State University as Ohio's 1890	1
land grant university and to request that the	2
United States Congress pass legislation and the	3
United States Department of Agriculture take steps	4
to recognize that designation and provide the	5
institution with all of the benefits of the	6
designation.	7

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The United States Congress enacted and the President 8 of the United States signed into law the Morrill Act of 1862 9 permitting each state to designate at least one institution as a 10 "land grant" college or university where the leading object is the 11
teaching of agriculture and the mechanic arts, initially endowing 12
such institution with a grant of land or scrip for the receiving 13
state to sell and invest on behalf of the institution; and 14

WHEREAS, The United States Congress enacted and the President of the United States signed into law the Second Morrill Act of 1890 to extend access to higher education by providing sustained federal support for all land grant institutions and to expand and enhance educational opportunities in agriculture and the mechanic arts for Black Americans; and

WHEREAS, The State of Ohio established The Ohio State University as the state's land grant university under the Morrill Act of 1862 in order to provide excellent educational opportunities to all Ohioans; and

WHEREAS, The State of Ohio, in 1887, created the Combined25Normal and Industrial Department of Wilberforce University to26provide teacher training and vocational education open to all27qualified applicants of good and moral character; and28

WHEREAS, Central State University is the successor of that29institution and continues to provide baccalaureate and graduate30educational opportunities in a wide variety of agriculture-related31disciplines; and32

WHEREAS, Central State University is Ohio's only public33historically Black college or university; and34

WHEREAS, Central State University and its predecessor35institutions have made the same extraordinary contributions to the36education of African Americans in the State of Ohio as other 189037universities have made in their respective states; and38

WHEREAS, The Ohio General Assembly desires to designate39Central State University as an 1890 land grant university under40the Second Morrill Act; therefore be it41

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 129th General Assembly 42 of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, designate Central State 43 University as a land grant university under the Second Morrill Act 44 of 1890 and request that the United States Congress pass 45 legislation, and the United States Department of Agriculture take 46 the necessary steps, to recognize that designation and to provide 47 Central State University with all of the benefits of such 48 designation; and be it further 49

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly 50 authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Secretary of the 51 United States Department of Agriculture, the Speaker, Majority 52 Leader, and Minority Leader of the United States House of 53 Representatives, and the President Pro Tempore, Majority Leader, 54 and Minority Leader of the United States Senate. 55