## As Adopted by the Senate

# 129th General Assembly Regular Session 2011-2012

S. C. R. No. 30

18

#### **Senators Widener, Kearney**

Cosponsors: Senators Tavares, Seitz, Bacon, Balderson, Beagle, Brown, Burke, Coley, Eklund, Gentile, Jones, LaRose, Lehner, Manning, Obhof, Oelslager, Sawyer, Schaffer, Schiavoni, Smith, Turner, Wagoner

### **CONCURRENT RESOLUTION**

| То | designate Central State University as Ohio's 1890  | 1 |
|----|--|---|
|    | land grant university and to request that the      | 2 |
|    | United States Congress pass legislation and the    | 3 |
|    | United States Department of Agriculture take steps | 4 |
|    | to recognize that designation and provide the      | 5 |
|    | institution with all of the benefits of the        | 6 |
|    | designation.                                       | 7 |

# BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING):

| WHEREAS, The United States Congress enacted and the President      | 8  |
|--|----|
| of the United States signed into law the Morrill Act of 1862       | 9  |
| permitting each state to designate at least one institution as a   | 10 |
| "land grant" college or university where the leading object is the | 11 |
| teaching of agriculture and the mechanic arts, initially endowing  | 12 |
| such institution with a grant of land or scrip for the receiving   | 13 |
| state to sell and invest on behalf of the institution; and         | 14 |
| WHEREAS, The United States Congress enacted and the President      | 15 |
| of the United States signed into law the Second Morrill Act of     | 16 |
| 1890 to extend access to higher education by providing sustained   | 17 |
|  |    |

federal support for all land grant institutions and to expand and

| RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly           | 50 |
|--|----|
| authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Secretary of the    | 51 |
| United States Department of Agriculture, the Speaker, Majority   | 52 |
| Leader, and Minority Leader of the United States House of        | 53 |
| Representatives, and the President Pro Tempore, Majority Leader, | 54 |
| and Minority Leader of the United States Senate.                 | 55 |