Senator Patton

RESOLUTION

Honoring the Olmsted Falls High School academic team on winning the 2011 NAQT Ohio State Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 129th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to pay tribute to the Olmsted Falls High School academic team as the 2011 National Academic Quiz Tournaments Ohio State Champion; and

WHEREAS, All those associated with the Olmsted Falls High School academic team are deserving of praise for their ability to excel in many pursuits and to meet challenges with enthusiasm and confidence. Members Jim Coury, Mike Coury, Sohan Vartak, and Marty Mendenhall have devoted countless hours to rigorous training in order to be in peak mental condition, and consequently, they triumphed over a strong Copley team by the score of 345-330 to win this year's NAQT State Championship; and

WHEREAS, Competitive spirit and innovative effort have played major roles in the development of our country. The drive to excel is best developed when youth are presented with trials that permit them to test their skills, knowledge, and strengths against their peers; and

WHEREAS, With their vitality, intelligence, and positive outlook, the members of the Olmsted Falls High School academic team, as well as their coaches, Rhonna Smith and Joe Gaela, have set an example worthy of emulation. We encourage these young individuals to continue to strive for excellence so that they may assume a meaningful and productive role in our complex society;

S. R. No. 94 Page 2

therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 129th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, honor the Olmsted Falls High School academic team on its state championship and extend best wishes for ongoing success; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Olmsted Falls High School academic team.