As Adopted

130th General Assembly Regular Session 2013-2014

H. R. No. 375

Representatives Strahorn, Winburn

RESOLUTION

Honoring Derrick Foward on receiving the Rupert Richardson Memorial Leadership Award.

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to pay tribute to Derrick Foward on being presented with the Rupert Richardson Memorial Leadership Award at the 104th NAACP Annual Convention; and

WHEREAS, The Rupert Richardson Memorial Leadership Award recognizes a NAACP leader who has displayed commitment, excellence, progress, professionalism, innovation, and youth development, and selection for this prestigious accolade is an honor of which Derrick Foward can be proud. The president of the Dayton Unit of the NAACP, he has brought insight and exceptional ability to his important work, and we applaud him on his exemplary record of accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, A highly principled individual, Derrick Foward has given back to the community far more than he has gleaned, and his selfless contributions stand as the hallmark of responsible citizenship. He can rest assured that he has set an example of service worthy of emulation; and

WHEREAS, It is through the unsurpassed efforts and unparalleled commitment of individuals such as Derrick Foward that our state continues to grow and prosper. He has earned a well-deserved reputation as a generous and civic-minded person,

and he is deserving of the highest praise for his concerted efforts on behalf of the entire community; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the House of Representatives of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate Derrick Foward as the recipient of the Rupert Richardson Memorial Leadership Award and extend best wishes for the future; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Derrick Foward.