Senator LaRose

RESOLUTION

Honoring Casey Followay as a 2013 OHSAA Track and Field State Champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate Casey Followay on winning first place in the 400-meter wheelchair event at the 2013 Ohio High School Athletic Association State Track and Field Meet; and

WHEREAS, A student at Wooster High School, Casey Followay has combined talent and competitive spirit with the highest ideals of good sportsmanship to establish himself as a truly exceptional young athlete. With admirable dedication, he has worked diligently toward attaining ultimate proficiency in wheelchair racing, and as a result, he won this year's OHSAA State Championship in the 400-meter event with a time of 1:01.93; and

WHEREAS, Casey Followay's accomplishments and leadership, both in and out of competition, are a justifiable source of pride and a fine reflection not only on him but also on his family, his teammates, his coaches, his school, and his community. His unwavering commitment to excellence has earned him the respect and esteem of many, and he is certainly worthy of high praise; and

WHEREAS, With athletic competition playing such an important role in the total education of our young people, we are extremely pleased to pay tribute to Casey Followay on an exemplary season. Indeed, the same maturity and experience he has gained through his participation in sports will greatly aid him in meeting the challenges of the future; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend Casey Followay on his OHSAA Track and Field State Championship and extend best wishes for continued success; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Casey Followay. I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 136, adopted by the Ohio Senate, June 11, 2013.

> Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Keith Faber President of the Senate

Senator Frank LaRose Senatorial District No. 27