2013-2014

130th General Assembly

Senator Balderson

RESOLUTION

Honoring Dean Murphy as a 2013 state archery champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate Dean Murphy on winning first place in the 2013 Ohio National Archery in the Schools Program Tournament; and

WHEREAS, A senior at Maysville High School, Dean Murphy has combined talent and competitive spirit with the highest ideals of good sportsmanship to establish himself as a truly exceptional athlete. With admirable dedication, he has worked diligently toward attaining ultimate proficiency in archery, and as a result, he scored 296 points to win first place in the boys high school division and overall at this year's Ohio NASP tournament, his second such title, and qualified for the national NASP tournament, where he placed thirteenth in his division and fourteenth overall; and

WHEREAS, Dean Murphy's accomplishments and leadership, both in and out of competition, are a justifiable source of pride and an outstanding reflection not only on him but also on his family, his coaches, his school, and his community. His unwavering commitment to excellence has earned him the respect and esteem of many, and he is certainly deserving of high praise; and

WHEREAS, With athletic competition playing such an important role in the total education of our young people, we are extremely pleased to pay tribute to Dean Murphy. Indeed, the same maturity S. R. No. 148 Page 2

and experience he has gained through his participation in archery will greatly aid him in meeting the challenges of the future; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend Dean Murphy on his personal success and salute him as one of Ohio's finest citizens; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Dean Murphy.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate

Resolution No. 148, adopted by the Ohio

Senate, June 19, 2013.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Keith Faber
President of the Senate

Senator Troy Balderson
Senatorial District No. 20