## As Introduced

## 130th General Assembly Regular Session 2013-2014

S. R. No. 234

## **Senator Widener**

## RESOLUTION

Honoring Dr. John Ritter as the 2013 Ohio Professor of the Year.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate Dr. John Ritter on being named the 2013 Ohio Professor of the Year by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching; and

WHEREAS, Selection for this prestigious distinction is an honor of which John Ritter can be proud, for he has been recognized for his exceptional skill, commitment, and professionalism. A geology professor and chairman of the Geology Department at Wittenberg University, he has engaged his students in collaborative research in the region, and he has been active with several local organizations, including the Clark County Soil and Water Conservation District; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, John Ritter has striven to channel the natural energy and curiosity of students into meaningful inquiry, thereby helping them gain a better understanding of the complex world around them. By presenting lessons in an interesting and comprehensible manner, he has consistently inspired his pupils to excel, and he has certainly distinguished himself as a conscientious and hard-working Ohioan; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his career in the field of education,

John Ritter has supported countless students in their scholastic

endeavors and has helped to nurture within them a desire for academic excellence. He has earned the respect and gratitude of his colleagues, his community, and, most importantly, his students for his genuine love of teaching, and he is certainly deserving of high praise; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend Dr. John Ritter on his recent state accolade and salute him as one of Ohio's finest educators; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Dr. John Ritter.