2013-2014

## Senators Hughes, Jordan

## RESOLUTION

Honoring the Cougar Robotics team on winning the 2013 FIRST Tech Challenge World Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to commend the Cougar Robotics team as the 2013 FIRST Tech Challenge World Champion; and

WHEREAS, All those associated with the Cougar Robotics team are deserving of praise for their ability to excel in many pursuits and to meet challenges with enthusiasm and confidence. Using science, math, technology, and engineering skills to design and construct a robot, team members Joey Diamond, Sean Morehart, Nathan Nahhas, and Evan Hollins devoted countless hours to rigorous training in order to be in peak mental condition, and consequently, they earned the Inspire Award at the Ohio State Championship and placed first at the Indiana State Championship robot game to qualify for this year's FIRST Tech Challenge World Championships, where they won fourteen matches and first place; and

WHEREAS, Competitive spirit and innovative effort have played major roles in the development of our country. The drive to excel is best developed when youth are presented with trials that permit them to test their skills, knowledge, and strengths against their peers; and

WHEREAS, With their vitality, intelligence, and positive outlook, the members of the Cougar Robotics team have set an example worthy of emulation. We encourage these young individuals

S. R. No. 243 Page 2

to continue to strive for excellence so that they may assume meaningful and productive roles in our complex society; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate the Cougar Robotics team on its accomplishments and extend best wishes for the future; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Cougar Robotics team. I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 243, adopted by the Ohio Senate, December 16, 2013.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Keith Faber
President of the Senate

Senator Jim Hughes
Senatorial District No. 16

Senator Kris Jordan
Senatorial District No. 19