## 130th General Assembly Regular Session 2013-2014

## Senators Patton, Smith

## RESOLUTION

Honoring the St. Ignatius High School varsity ice hockey team on winning a share of the 2014 State Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to extend special recognition to the St. Ignatius High School varsity ice hockey team as a 2014 State Champion; and

WHEREAS, Under the capable leadership of Coach Patrick O'Rourke, the St. Ignatius High School varsity ice hockey team has proven to be a talented and superbly conditioned squad and has gained the respect of fans and opponents alike for the spirited and highly motivated play of its members. Throughout the season, players Danny Brogan, Wes Deacon, Riley Ellis, Brian Fitzgerald, Nick Gajkowski, Matty Geither, Cam Gerard, Jimmy Grisanti, Jack Mazanec, Dylan McKeon, Chris Rini, Brian Russell, Beck Schultz, Logan Sellers, Harry Smith, Kevin Spellacy, Aidan Spellacy, Jared Stepka, Brady Wells, Ethan Whitney, Jack Wiegandt, and Kevin Yarcusko worked diligently to improve their skills, and as a result, the Wildcats accomplished their goals, bringing home a share of this year's State Championship title; and

WHEREAS, Known as a driven and determined team, the St. Ignatius Wildcats have developed into a remarkably efficient group of athletes whose skill on the ice is equaled only by their exemplary display of teamwork and sportsmanship. They are a credit not only to their families and their school but also to the superb coaching of their mentor, Patrick O'Rourke; and

WHEREAS, The road to victory and a championship title is a difficult one, requiring ability, endurance, teamwork, and a positive attitude on the part of players and coaches alike. The members of the St. Ignatius High School varsity ice hockey team have exemplified all of the characteristics that are essential for success both in and out of competition, including courage, discipline, integrity, and good sportsmanship, and their efforts have earned them the admiration of all those who have witnessed these outstanding athletes in action; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate the St. Ignatius High School varsity ice hockey team on its performance at the 2014 State Championship and commend all those associated with this exceptional squad; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the St. Ignatius High School varsity ice hockey team. I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 332, adopted by the Ohio Senate, May 7, 2014.

> Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Keith Faber President of the Senate Senator Thomas F. Patton Senatorial District No. 24

Senator Shirley Smith Senatorial District No. 21