2013-2014

## **Senator LaRose**

## RESOLUTION

Honoring Smithville United Methodist Church on its
Two Hundredth Anniversary.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to extend special recognition to Smithville United Methodist Church on the hallowed occasion of its Bicentennial, commemorated September 14, 2014; and

WHEREAS, More than a mere building, a church is the dedicated individuals who have joined to bring life to the House of the Lord. Whether celebrating a religious holiday or attending weekly worship, the congregation of Smithville United Methodist Church has truly demonstrated and manifested the living faith of Christianity; and

WHEREAS, Smithville United Methodist Church has experienced significant growth and has played a dynamic role in the community, both as a house of worship and as the origin of many social, religious, and humanitarian projects and programs. We are proud to join with the members in observing the founding of the church and honor all those who have worked to strengthen the bonds of Christian love and fellowship within the congregation; and

WHEREAS, The anniversary celebration of Smithville United Methodist Church offers its members the opportunity to share their memories and to reflect on the benefits of life in their close-knit community. The achievements of this fine house of worship are a justifiable source of pride and an excellent reflection not only on the church itself but also on its pastor,

S. R. No. 394 Page 2

Josh Arrington, on its members, and on the Smithville community; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate Smithville United Methodist Church on its Two Hundredth Anniversary and extend best wishes for the future; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Smithville United Methodist Church.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 394, adopted by the Ohio Senate, August 25, 2014.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Keith Faber
President of the Senate

Senator Frank LaRose Senatorial District No. 27