130th General Assembly Regular Session 2013-2014

S. R. No. 9

Senators Hughes, Bacon

RESOLUTION

In memory of Mary Jo Cusack.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio extend heartfelt condolences to the family and friends of Mary Jo Cusack in their time of bereavement; and

WHEREAS, Mary Jo Cusack's zealous love of life and her selfless concern for the welfare of others distinguished her as an outstanding human being and as a leading citizen. A Riverlea Village Council member for twenty-two years and the mayor of the Village of Riverlea for seven years, she was a dedicated and devoted public servant whose exemplary career serves as an inspiration for others; and

WHEREAS, A woman of exceptional concern and insight, Mary Jo Cusack also achieved a praiseworthy record of service as a lawyer in private practice, the first female president of the Franklin County Trial Lawyers, and a member of the Pilot Club of Columbus and the Franklin County Convention Facilities Authority Board. In addition, her untiring efforts earned her many richly deserved accolades, including the Lifetime Service and Toch awards from the National Association of Woman Lawyers; and

WHEREAS, Mary Jo Cusack's generous contributions will certainly live beyond her, and she will long be remembered for her kindness and her unwavering commitment to service. The warmth and understanding she so readily extended to others will stand as a testament to her personal character, and she will be remembered fondly by all those who knew and loved her; therefore be it RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 130th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, pay tribute to the memory of a truly honorable woman, Mary Jo Cusack; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the family of Mary Jo Cusack.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 9, adopted by the Ohio Senate, January 15, 2013.

> Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Keith Faber President of the Senate

Senator Jim Hughes Senatorial District No. 16

Senator Kevin Bacon Senatorial District No. 2