130th Ohio General Assembly
The online versions of legislation provided on this website are not official. Enrolled bills are the final version passed by the Ohio General Assembly and presented to the Governor for signature. The official version of acts signed by the Governor are available from the Secretary of State's Office in the Continental Plaza, 180 East Broad St., Columbus.

(124th General Assembly)
(Amended House Bill Number 182)

To enact section 4501.025 of the Revised Code to create the Citizens Advisory Committee within the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Ohio:

SECTION 1.  That section 4501.025 of the Revised Code be enacted to read as follows:

Sec. 4501.025.  (A) There is hereby created within the bureau of motor vehicles the citizens advisory committee consisting of nine appointed members and the registrar of motor vehicles, who shall serve as an ex officio nonvoting member. The governor, the president of the senate, and the speaker of the house of representatives each shall appoint three members to the committee. The president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives each shall appoint one member from their respective houses. Of the three members that the governor, the president of the senate, and the speaker of the house of representatives each appoint to the committee, no more than two shall be members of the same political party.

Of the initial appointments to the committee, the governor, the president of the senate, and the speaker of the house of representatives each shall appoint one member for one year, one member for two years, and one member for three years. Thereafter, terms of office shall be for three years, each term ending on the same day of the same month as did the term that it succeeds. Each member shall hold office from the date of appointment until the end of the term for which the member was appointed. Members may be reappointed. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of that term. A member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of the member's term until the member's successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

The committee shall select from among its members a chairperson and a vice-chairperson. The committee shall meet at least twice each calendar year and at other times upon the call of the chair.

Voting members of the committee shall serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed for travel and other necessary expenses incurred in the conduct of their official duties.

(B) The committee shall review and evaluate the client service practices of the bureau and advise the bureau on ways to improve its interaction with the public. The procedures that the committee shall review include, but are not limited to, the following:

(1) The form and processing of required applications and other documents;

(2) The administration of tests;

(3) The accessibility of bureau staff and the speed and accuracy with which questions are answered;

(4) Methods of notification for the suspension or revocation of a driver's license;

(5) Rules regarding proof of financial responsibility;

(6) The efficiency of service at the offices of deputy registrars.

The committee shall adopt recommendations by a majority vote of its members and shall present recommendations to the bureau for consideration. The committee shall provide copies of its recommendations to the governor, the president of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, and the director of public safety.

(C) The bureau shall establish a toll-free telephone number for the committee that citizens may call to register complaints, suggestions, or other comments about their interactions with the bureau. The bureau also shall establish an address at which citizens may contact the committee electronically via the internet. The committee periodically shall review all electronic communications and all calls placed to the toll-free number. The bureau shall cooperate with the committee in the committee's performance of its duties.

(D) The citizens advisory committee shall expire three years after the date of its creation unless the general assembly renews it pursuant to division (D) of section 101.83 of the Revised Code. A renewal of the committee shall be for a period of three years.

SECTION 2.  Within sixty days after the effective date of this act, the Governor, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives each shall appoint three members to the Citizens Advisory Committee pursuant to section 4501.025 of the Revised Code as enacted in this act.

Please send questions and comments to the Webmaster.
© 2021 Legislative Information Systems | Disclaimer