

Bill Cramer

Legislative Service Commission

# Sub. H.B. 101

126th General Assembly (As Passed by the General Assembly)

Reps. Wolpert, Wagner, Latta, McGregor, Kearns, Aslanides, C. Evans, Seaver, Perry, Carano, Domenick, Williams, Chandler, Daniels, Yuko, Ujvagi, Fende, Uecker, Blessing, Buehrer, Cassell, Collier, Combs, Distel, D. Evans, Flowers, Gilb, Hagan, Hughes, Key, Koziura, Law, Miller, T. Patton, Reidelbach, Seitz, Setzer, G. Smith, D. Stewart, Willamowski

Sens. Stivers, Schuler

Effective date: \*

### **ACT SUMMARY**

• Creates the Local Government Public Notice Task Force to study local government public notice requirements and issue a specified report within one year.

### CONTENT AND OPERATION

### **Functions**

The act creates the Local Government Public Notice Task Force to study the public notice requirements in the Revised Code for local governments and to determine (1) if the public notices are still needed and (2) if there are other ways to fulfill those requirements, such as by the use of media or technology other than those currently mandated. Then, the Task Force must determine if any changes would enhance public availability and provide cost savings to local governments. (Section 1(A) and (C).)

Not later than one year after the act's effective date, the Task Force must prepare and submit a report of its findings and recommendations on whether to

<sup>\*</sup> The Legislative Service Commission had not received formal notification of the effective date at the time this analysis was prepared. Additionally, the analysis may not reflect action taken by the Governor.

change local government public notice requirements to the Governor, the Senate President and Minority Leader, and the House Speaker and Minority Leader. After the report is issued, the Task Force, which is not subject to the Sunset Review Law, ceases to exist. (Section 1(C) and (D).)

# Membership

The Task Force is to consist of the following 22 members (Section 1(A)):

- Two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the House Speaker, with at least one of those members being appointed from a recommendation of the House Minority Leader;
- Two members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate President, with at least one of those members being appointed from a recommendation of the Senate Minority Leader;
- One member representing the Governor's office, appointed by the Governor:
- One member representing municipal government, appointed by the House Speaker from a list of names provided by the Ohio Municipal League;
- One member representing township government, appointed by the Senate President from a list of names provided by the Ohio Township Association:
- One member representing county government, appointed by the House Speaker from a list of names provided by the County Commissioners' Association of Ohio:
- One member representing each type of elected county officer (i.e., county recorders, prosecuting attorneys, sheriffs, coroners, engineers, auditors, treasurers, and clerks of the courts of common pleas). The members representing the county recorders, prosecuting attorneys, sheriffs, and county coroners must be appointed by the Senate President from a list of names provided by an organization representing those county officers, and the members representing county engineers, county auditors, county treasurers, and clerks of the courts of common pleas must be appointed by the House Speaker from a list of names provided by an organization representing those county officers.

- One member representing the Attorney General's office, appointed by the Attorney General;
- One member representing the Ohio Legal Daily Coalition, appointed by the Governor:
- One member representing a daily newspaper with a circulation of more than 100,000, one member representing a daily newspaper with a circulation of 20,000 to 100,000, one member representing a daily newspaper with a circulation of under 20,000, and one member representing weekly newspapers, each appointed by the Governor from a list of names provided by the Ohio Newspaper Association.

All appointments must be made within 30 days after the act's effective date. The chairperson of the Task Force is one of the House members appointed by the House Speaker, and one of the Senate members appointed by the Senate President is its vice-chairperson. The House Speaker and the Senate President must designate which of their respective appointees will serve as those Task Force officers. (Section 1(B).)

Task Force members will not receive compensation for service on the Task Force. And, the Legislative Service Commission must provide staff assistance to the Task Force. (Section 1(B).)

#### HISTORY

DATE
03-01-05
05-10-05
05-18-05
01-17-06
01-24-06
01-31-06

06-hb101-126.doc/kl