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ACT SUMMARY 

• Restates the provisions in Section 34a of Article II, Ohio Constitution, 
which was approved in the General Election of 2006, concerning the 
minimum wage amount; an employer's record-keeping requirements 
relative to wage payments; an employee's ability to have access to those 
records; and actions by certain private parties, the Director of Commerce, 
or the Attorney General for violations of those provisions. 

• Defines various terms used in Section 34a. 

• Exempts from the minimum wage and record-keeping requirements 
employees who are exempt from the federal minimum wage law. 

• Requires an employer to update an employee with the employer's new 
contact information 60 business days after the information changes. 

• Specifies the application of other provisions contained in Section 34a. 

• Includes a purpose clause and severability clause. 
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CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Contrasting Section 34a of Article II, Ohio Constitution, with Chapter 4111. of 
the Revised Code 

Prior to passage of Issue 2 in the General Election in November, 2006, 
employers that were subject to Ohio's Minimum Wage Law were subject to the 
provisions in Chapter 4111. of the Revised Code.  After the passage of Issue 2, 
employers who were subject to that chapter are now subject to Section 34a of 
Article II, Ohio Constitution (hereafter "Section 34a"), as well as that chapter.  
However, because some provisions in Section 34a conflicted with certain 
provisions in Chapter 4111. of the Revised Code, as explained in detail below, 
Section 34a supercedes those conflicting provisions (hereafter "superceded 
minimum wage law").  The act amends those conflicting provisions to comply 
with Section 34a and adds provisions to Chapter 4111. of the Revised Code 
concerning Section 34a. 

Minimum wage amounts 

Under superceded minimum wage law, every employer, including an 
employer with less than $150,000 gross annual sales, who was subject to that law 
was required to pay each of the employer's employees at a wage rate of not less 
than the wage rate specified in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (hereafter 
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"FLSA").  The FLSA requires employers generally to pay their employees at least 
$5.15 per hour.  Under superceded minimum wage law, this wage requirement 
also applied to agricultural employees with certain exceptions.  Superceded 
minimum wage law specified that an employer must pay any employee engaged in 
an occupation in which the employee customarily and regularly receives tips from 
patrons or others the wage specified in the FLSA, which is a minimum of $2.13 
per hour plus an amount on account of tips, so that the total wage paid to the 
tipped employee equals at least $5.15.  (R.C. 4111.02; also see 29 U.S.C. 206.) 

Section 34a requires every employer to pay the employer's employees a 
wage rate of not less than $6.85 per hour beginning on January 1, 2007.  
Beginning in 2007, on September 30 of every year, the minimum wage rate must 
be adjusted by the rate of inflation for the 12 month period prior to that September, 
according to the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Wage Earners and Clerical 
Workers, or its successor index, for all items as calculated by the federal 
government rounded to the nearest five cents.  This adjusted wage rate becomes 
effective January 1 following the September in which it was adjusted.   

Under Section 34a, an employer must pay a wage rate of not less than the 
wage rate specified in the FLSA, as described above, to the employer's employees 
(1) who are under the age of 16 or (2) if the employer has annual gross receipts of 
$250,000 or less for the preceding calendar year.  Under Section 34a, the $250,000 
threshold must be increased annually, beginning on January 1, 2008, in the same 
manner as the minimum wage amount is adjusted, except that the threshold must 
be rounded to the nearest $1,000.  

Section 34a permits an employer to pay an employee less than, but not less 
than half, the minimum wage rate required by that section if the employer is able 
to demonstrate that the employee receives tips that, combined with the wages the 
employer pays, are equal to or greater than the minimum wage rate for all hours 
worked.  Thus, a tipped employee who is not under the age of 16 or employed by 
an employer whose gross annual receipts are less than $250,000 may be paid a 
minimum of $3.43 per hour if the employee's employer can demonstrate that the 
employee receives sufficient tips as described above.  A tipped employee who is 
under the age of 16 or employed by an employer whose gross annual receipts are 
less than $250,000 may be paid a minimum of $2.13 per hour if the employee's 
employer can make the above -described demonstration concerning tip sufficiency. 

Under the act, the superceded minimum wage law that required employers 
to pay certain wage rates, as described above, is amended to specify that every 
employer must pay each of the employer's employees at a wage rate of not less 
than the wage rate specified in Section 34a.  Additionally, superceded law is 
amended to specify that "employee" has the same meaning as under the new 
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provisions in the act described below in "Definition of "employee"."  (R.C. 
4111.02.) 

To whom Ohio's minimum wage applies 

Under the act, in order for an employer or employee to be subject to Ohio's 
minimum wage requirements, that entity or person must fit within the definitions 
of "employer" or "employee," respectively, that appear in Section 34a and the act.  
The FLSA specifies that an employer who is subject to both the FLSA and state 
law is governed by the law that establishes the higher minimum wage or the lower 
maximum workweek.  Because Ohio's basic minimum wage was increased to 
$6.85 per hour under Section 34a, as explained above, employers who are subject 
to the FLSA, Section 34a, and Chapter 4111. of the Revised Code must pay not 
less than $6.85 per hour instead of not less than $5.15 per hour as the FLSA 
requires.  (See 29 U.S.C. 218.) 

Definition of "employer" 

Superceded minimum wage law defined "employer" to mean the state of 
Ohio, its instrumentalities, and its political subdivisions and their instrumentalities, 
any individual, partnership, association, corporation, business trust, or any person 
or group of persons, acting in the interest of an employer in relation to an 
employee.  "Employer" did not include an employer whose annual gross volume 
of sales made for business done is less than $150,000, exclusive of excise taxes at 
the retail level that are separately stated.  (R.C. 4111.01.) 

Section 34a states that "employer" has the same meaning as in the FLSA, 
except that Section 34a adds that "employer" also includes the state and every 
political subdivision.  Under the FLSA, "employer" includes "any person acting 
directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee and 
includes a public agency, but does not include any labor organization (other than 
when acting as an employer) or anyone acting in the capacity of officer or agent of 
such labor organization."  "Public agency" means (1) the United States 
government, (2) the government of a state or political subdivision thereof, (3) any 
agency of the United States, including the United States Postal Service and Postal 
Rate Commission, a state, or a political subdivision of a state, or (4) any interstate 
governmental agency.  However, unlike superceded minimum wage law in Ohio, 
the definition of "employer" is not the only factor used to determine whether an 
employer is subject to the FLSA.  Other definitions used in and other provisions of 
the FLSA also are used to determine if an employer must follow the requirements 



Legislative Service Commission -5- Am. Sub. H.B. 690  

of that law. 1  Section 34a stipulates that only the exemptions set forth in that 
section apply to that section; however, that section does not address specifically 
whether the other definitions and provisions concerning the term "employer" in the 
FLSA apply under that section.  (See Section 34a of Article II, Ohio Constitution, 
and 29 U.S.C. 203.) 

The act restates the provision in Section 34a that defines "employer" to 
mean the same as in the FLSA.  Additionally, the act specifies that in construing 
the meaning of "employer," due consideration and great weight must be given to 
the United States Department of Labor's (hereafter "USDOL") and federal courts' 
interpretations of that term under the FLSA and its regulations.  (R.C. 
4111.14(B).) 

Definition of "employee" 

Under superceded minimum wage law, "employee" meant any individual 
employed by an employer, but did not include several types of employees such as 
(1) any individual employed by the United States, (2) any individual employed as 
an outside salesperson compensated by commissions or in a bona fide executive, 
administrative, or professional capacity as such terms are defined in the FLSA, 
and (3) certain agricultural employees.2  (R.C. 4111.01.) 

Section 34a specifies that "employee" has the same meaning as in the 
FLSA except that "employee" does not include (1) an individual employed in or 
about the property of the employer or individual's residence on a casual basis and 
(2) employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family 
members of the owner.   

                                                 
1 For example, unless exempt from the FLSA, generally an employer is subject to the 
FLSA if the employer's annual gross volume of sales is $500,000 or more, or if the 
employer is engaged in commerce. 

2 The other employees excluded from the definition of "employee" were (1) any individual 
employed as a baby-sitter in the employer's home, or a live-in companion to a sick, 
convalescing, or elderly person whose principal duties do not include housekeeping, (2) 
any individual engaged in the delivery of newspapers to the consumer, (3) any individual 
who works or provides personal services of a charitable nature in a hospital or health 
institution for which compensation is not sought or contemplated, (4) a member of a 
police or fire protection agency or student employed on a part -time or seasonal basis by 
a political subdivision of the state, (5) any individual in the employ of a camp or 
recreational area for children and owned and operated by a nonprofit organization, and 
(6) any individual employed directly by the House of Representatives or directly by the 
Senate.  (R.C. 4111.01.) 



Legislative Service Commission -6- Am. Sub. H.B. 690  

Under the FLSA, "employee" is defined generally to be "any individual 
employed by an employer," but then includes many specifications and exceptions 
to the definition.  If an individual is employed by a public agency, "employee" 
means individuals employed by (1) United States government in specified 
positions, (2) the United States Postal Service or Postal Rate Commission, or (3) a 
state, political subdivision of a state, or an interstate governmental agency.  
However, an individual is not an "employee" if the individual is employed by a 
state, political subdivision of a state, or an interstate governmental agency but is 
not subject to the civil service laws of the state, political subdivision, or agency 
and holds one of various political positions specified in the FLSA.3  Additionally, 
"employee," under the FLSA, does not include (1) an individual who volunteers to 
perform services for a state, political subdivision of a state, or interstate 
governmental agency if certain conditions apply or (2) an individual who 
volunteers the volunteer's services solely for humanitarian purposes to private 
nonprofit food banks and who receives groceries from the food banks.  (See 29 
U.S.C. 203.) 

Under the FLSA, unlike superceded minimum wage law in Ohio, other 
individuals are exempt from certain requirements of the FLSA, but those 
individuals are not specified in the definition of "employee."  Other provisions of 
the FLSA exempt these individuals from the FLSA, as explained below, similar to 
how certain persons are exempt from the term "employer," as explained above.  
Section 34a stipulates that only the exemptions set forth in that section apply to 
that section; however, that section does not address specifically whether the 
exemptions specified in the FLSA concerning the term "employee" apply under 
that section.  ( Id.) 

The act reiterates the provision in Section 34a that requires "employee" to 
have the same meaning as in the FLSA and specifies that "employee" means 
individuals employed in Ohio, but does not mean individuals who are excluded 
from the definition of "employee" under the FLSA (29 U.S.C. 203(e)) or 
individuals who are exempted from the minimum wage requirements in the FLSA 
(29 U.S.C. 213) and from the definition of "employee" in Ohio's minimum wage 

                                                 
3 The political positions that disqualify an individual from being considered an 
"employee" under the FLSA  are (1) holding a public elective office of the state, political 
subdivision, or agency, (2) being selected to be a member of a public elective 
officerholder's personal staff, (3) being appointed to serve on a policy-making level by an 
officerholder, (4) being an immediate adviser to an officeholder with respect to the 
constitutional or legal powers of the officeholder's office, or (5) being employed in a 
legislative branch or legislative body of the state, political subdivision, or agency and not 
being employed by the legislative library of that state, political subdivision, or agency.  
(29 U.S.C. 203.) 



Legislative Service Commission -7- Am. Sub. H.B. 690  

law.  The FLSA exempts many types of individuals from the minimum wage 
requirements of the FLSA, such as (1) any employee employed in a bona fide 
executive, administrative, or professional capacity, (2) various employees engaged 
in agriculture, (3) any employee employed on a casual basis in domestic service 
employment to provide (a) babysitting services or (b) companionship services to 
those unable to care for themselves, (4) certain criminal investigators, and (5) 
certain computer system analysts, computer programmers, software engineers, and 
other similarly skilled employees.4  The act also specifies that in construing the 
meaning of "employee" and "employ," due consideration and great weight must be 
given to the USDOL's and federal courts' interpretations of those terms under the 
FLSA and its regulations.   

Additionally, under the act, "employee" does not include any person acting 
as a volunteer.  In construing who is a volunteer, the act states that "volunteer" has 
the same meaning as in specified federal regulations.5  The act requires that due 
consideration and great weight be given to the USDOL's and federal courts' 
interpretations of the term "volunteer" under the FLSA and its regulations.  (R.C. 
4111.14; also see 29 U.S.C. 213.) 

Concerning the exclusion in Section 34a of "an individual employed in or 
about the property of the employer or individual's residence on a casual basis" 
from the definition of "employee," the act specifies that "casual basis" means 
employment that is irregular or intermittent and that is not performed by an 
individual whose vocation is to be employed in or about the property of the 
employer or individual's residence.  The act specifies that in construing who is 
employed on a "casual basis," due consideration and great weight must be given to 
USDOL's and federal courts' interpretations of the term "casual basis" under the 
FLSA and its regulations.  The act also defines "an individual employed in or 
about the property of an employer or individual's residence" to mean an individual 

                                                 
4 Other individuals exempt from the minimum wage requirements of the FLSA include (1) 
employees employed in amusement parks, recreational establishments, organized camps, 
or religious or non-profit educational conference centers, when these entities satisfy 
specified criteria, (2) certain apprentices and students, (3) employees employed in 
connection with certain types of newspapers of less than 4,000 circulation, (4) 
switchboard operators of certain public telephone companies, (5) seaman on a vessel 
other than an American vessel, (6) outside salespersons, and (7) employees engaged in 
fishing operations.  (See 29 U.S.C. 213.) 

5 For example, under one specified provision in federal regulations, "volunteer" means 
an individual who performs hours of service for a public agency for civic, charitable, or 
humanitarian reasons, without promise, expectation, or receipt of compensation for 
services rendered.  (29 C.F.R. 553.101.) 
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employed on a casual basis or an individual employed in or about a residence on a 
casual basis, respectively.  (R.C. 4111.14(D).) 

The act reiterates the provisions in Section 34a concerning the exclusion 
from the definition of "employee" for employees of a solely family-owned and 
operated business who are family members of an owner.  The act defines "family 
member" to mean a parent, spouse, child, stepchild, sibling, grandparent, 
grandchild, or other member of an owner's immediate family.  (R.C. 4111.14(D).) 

Other terms defined under Section 34a and the act 

Under superceded minimum wage law, "employ" meant to suffer or to 
permit to work.  Section 34a requires that "employ" have the same meaning as in 
the FLSA, in which "employ" means to suffer or permit to work.  The act restates 
the provision in Section 34a concerning the definition of "employ" and specifies 
that "employ" does not include any person acting as a volunteer, as is explained 
above for the term "employee."  (R.C. 4111.01 and 4111.14(B); also see 29 U.S.C. 
203.) 

Under the act, the definitions of "employ," "employer," and "employee," as 
defined under superceded minimum wage law, apply to only the overtime 
provision in Chapter 4111. of the Revised Code (R.C. 4111.03).  The act does not 
change the definitions of "wage" and "occupation," thus those definitions continue 
to apply to all of that chapter, including the minimum wage provisions.   

The act specifies that, in accordance with Section 34a, the terms "person" 
and "independent contractor" have the same meanings as in the FLSA.  However, 
the act also specifies that in construing the meanings of those terms, due 
consideration and great weight must be given to the USDOL's and federal courts' 
interpretations of those terms under the FLSA and its regulations.  Under the 
FLSA, "person" means an individual, partnership, association, corporation, 
business trust, legal representative, or any organized group of persons.  
"Independent contractor," however, is not specifically defined in the FLSA, thus 
its definition is unclear.  (R.C. 4111.14(B); also see 29 U.S.C. 203.) 

Record-keeping requirements under Section 34a and the act 

Under superceded minimum wage law, every employer that was subject to 
the superceded law was required to make and keep for a period of not less than 
three years a record of the name, address, and occupation of each of the employer's 
employees, the rate of pay and the amount paid each pay period to each employee, 
the hours worked each day and each work week by the employee, and other 
information as the Director of Commerce prescribed by rule.  The employer was 
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required to permit the Director to inspect or copy those records at any reasonable 
time.  (R.C. 4111.08.) 

Section 34a requires an employer, at the time of hire, to provide an 
employee with the employer's name, address, telephone number, and other contact 
information and update such information when it changes.  It also requires an 
employer to maintain a record of the name, address, occupation, pay rate, hours 
worked for each day worked, and each amount paid an employee for a period of 
not less than three years following the last date the employee was employed.   

Under the act, the record-keeping requirements in prior minimum wage law 
are amended to specify that any records an employer creates on or before 
December 31, 2006, must be created and maintained in accordance with that prior 
law.  On and after January 1, 2007, an employer is required to create and maintain 
records for minimum wage purposes as specified in Section 34a and the act, 
described below, instead of in accordance with prior minimum wage law.  On 
January 1, 2010, the act applies the record-keeping requirements in prior minimum 
wage law to employers only for purposes of Ohio's overtime requirements.  (R.C. 
4111.08 and 4111.14(F)(3) and Section 3.) 

The act reiterates the record-keeping requirements of Section 34a explained 
above and further defines several of the terms used in those requirements.  The act 
specifies that "other contact information" may include, where applicable, the 
employer's internet site address on the world wide web, electronic mail address, or 
fax number, or the name, address, and telephone number of the employer's 
statutory agent.  It specifies that "other contact information" does not include the 
name, address, telephone number, fax number, internet site address, or electronic 
mail address of any employee, shareholder, officer, director, supervisor, manager, 
or other individual employed by or associated with an employer.  (R.C. 
4111.14(E).) 

Under the act, "when it changes" means that the employer must provide its 
employees with the change in its name, address, telephone number, or other 
contact information within 60 business days after the change occurs.  The 
employer must provide the changed information by using any of its usual methods 
of communicating with its employees, including, but not limited to, listing the 
change on the employer's internet site on the world wide web, internal computer 
network, or a bulletin board where it commonly posts employee communications 
or by insertion or inclusion with employees' paychecks or pay stubs.  (R.C. 
4111.14(E)(2).) 

The act defines "address," when used with respect to an employee's 
information, to mean an employee's home address as maintained in the employer's 
personnel file or personnel database for that employee.  With respect to employees 
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who are not exempt from the overtime pay requirements of the FLSA or Ohio's 
overtime law, "pay rate" means an employee's base rate of pay.6  With respect to 
employees who are exempt from the overtime pay requirements of the FLSA or 
Ohio's overtime law, "pay rate" means an employee's annual base salary or other 
rate of pay by which the particular employee qualifies for that exemption under 
the FLSA or Ohio's overtime law, but does not include bonuses, stock options, 
incentives, deferred compensation, or any other similar form of compensation.  
(R.C. 4111.14(F)(1) and (2).) 

Under the act, "record" means the name, address, occupation, pay rate, 
hours worked for each day worked, and each amount paid an employee in one or 
more documents, databases, or other paper or electronic forms of record-keeping 
maintained by an employer.  The act also specifies that no one particular method 
or form of maintaining such a record or records is required under the act.  An 
employer is not required to create or maintain a single record containing only the 
employee's name, address, occupation, pay rate, hours worked for each day 
worked, and each amount paid an employee.  An employer must maintain a record 
or records from which the employee or person acting on behalf of that employee 
could reasonably review the information requested by the employee or person.  An 
employer is not required to maintain the records specified in the act for any period 
before January 1, 2007.  On and after January 1, 2007, the employer must maintain 
the records required by the act for three years from the date the hours were worked 
by the employee and for three years after the date the employee's employment 
ends.  (R.C. 4111.14(F)(3).) 

The act stipulates that with respect to individuals for whom the employer is 
not required to keep those records under the FLSA and its regulations or 
individuals who are not subject to the overtime pay requirements specified in 
Ohio's overtime provisions, "hours worked for each day worked" means the total 
amount of time worked by an employee in whatever increments the employer uses 
for its payroll purposes during a day worked by the employee.  An employer is not 

                                                 
6 The FLSA exempts many different types of employees from the law's overtime 
provisions.  In addition to the exemptions explained above from the term "employee," the 
following individuals are examples of the those exempt from the FLSA overtime payment 
requirements:  (1) employees subject to the authority of the United States Secretary of 
Transportation to establish maximum hours for those employees, (2) employees engaged 
in the operation of a rail carrier or carrier by air, (3) individuals employed as outside 
buyers of poultry, eggs, cream, or milk in their raw or natural state, (4) seamen, (5) 
announcers, news editors, or chief engineers of certain radio or television stations, (6) 
salesmen, partsmen, or mechanics engaged in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks, 
farm implements, trailers, boats, or aircraft, and (7) certain agricultural employees.  (29 
U.S.C. 213.) 
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required to keep a record of the time of day an employee begins and ends work on 
any given day.  As used in this provision, "day" means a fixed period of 24 
consecutive hours during which an employee performs work for an employer.  The 
act specifies that an employer is not required to keep records of "hours worked for 
each day worked" for individuals for whom the employer is not required to keep 
those records under the FLSA and its regulations or individuals who are not 
subject to the overtime pay requirements specified in Ohio's overtime provisions.  
(R.C. 4111.14(F)(4).) 

Under the act, "each amount paid an employee" means the total gross 
wages paid to an employee for each pay period.  As used in this provision, "pay 
period" means the period of time designated by an employer to pay an employee 
the employee's gross wages in accordance with the employer's payroll practices 
and continuing law concerning semimonthly payment of wages.  (R.C. 
4111.14(F)(5) and 4113.15, not in the act.) 

Section 34a requires an employer to provide information maintained in an 
employee's record, which Section 34a describes as "such information," to an 
employee or person acting on behalf of an employee upon request and without 
charge. 

The act restates this provision from Section 34a and defines several terms 
used in that provision.  "Such information" means the name, address, occupation, 
pay rate, hours worked for each day worked, and each amount paid for the specific 
employee who has requested that specific employee's own information and does 
not include the name, address, occupation, pay rate, hours worked for each day 
worked, or each amount paid of any other employee of the employer.  "Such 
information" does not include hours worked for each day worked by individuals 
for whom an employer is not required to keep that information under the FLSA 
and its regulations or individuals who are not subject to Ohio's overtime 
provisions.  (R.C. 4111.14(G)(1).) 

Under the act, "acting on behalf of an employee" means a person acting on 
behalf of an employee as any of the following:  (1) the certified or legally 
recognized collective bargaining representative for that employee under the 
applicable federal law or Ohio's Public Employees' Collective Bargaining Law 
(R.C. Chapter 4117.), (2) the employee's attorney, or (3) the employee's parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian.  The act further specifies that a person "acting on 
behalf of an employee" must be specifically authorized by an employee in order to 
make a request for that employee's own name, address, occupation, pay rate, hours 
worked for each day worked, and each amount paid to that employee.  (R.C. 
4111.14(G)(2).) 
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The act defines "provide" to mean that an employer must provide the 
requested information within 30 business days after the date the employer receives 
the request, unless either of the following occurs: (1) the employer and the 
employee or person acting on behalf of the employee agree to some alternative 
time period for providing the information or (2) the 30-day period would cause a 
hardship on the employer under the circumstances, in which case the employer 
must provide the requested information as soon as practicable.  (R.C. 
4111.14(G)(3).) 

Under the act, a "request" made by an employee or a person acting on 
behalf of an employee means a request by an employee or a person acting on 
behalf of an employee for the employee's own information.  The act further 
permits the employer to require that the employee provide the employer with a 
written request that has been signed by the employee and notarized and that 
reasonably specifies the particular information being requested.  The employer 
also may require that the person acting on behalf of an employee provide the 
employer with a written request that has been signed by the employee whose 
information is being requested and notarized and that reasonably specifies the 
particular information being requested.  (R.C. 4111.14(G)(4).) 

Complaints by private parties for violations of Section 34a, laws implementing 
that Section,  and the act 

Section 34a states: 

An employee, person acting on behalf of one or more 
employees, and/or any other interested party may file a 
complaint with the state for a violation of any 
provision of this section or any law or regulation 
implementing its provisions.  Such complaint shall be 
promptly investigated and resolved by the state.  The 
employee's name shall be kept confidential unless 
disclosure is necessary to resolution of a complaint and 
the employee consents to disclosure.  The state may, 
on its own initiative, investigate an employer's 
compliance with this section and any law or regulation 
implementing its provisions.  The employer shall make 
available to the state any records related to such 
investigation and other information required for 
enforcement of this section or any law or regulation 
implementing its provisions.  (Section 34a of Article 
II, Ohio Constitution, not in the act.) 
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The act reiterates the above provisions from Section 34a and defines several 
of the terms used in those provisions (R.C. 4111.14(H) and (I)).  The act defines 
"complaint" to mean a complaint of an alleged violation pertaining to harm 
suffered by the employee filing the complaint, by a person acting on behalf of one 
or more employees, or by an interested party (R.C. 4111.14(H)(1)). 

The act defines "the state" throughout the act to mean the Director of 
Commerce.  (R.C. 4111.14(N).) 

Under the act, "acting on behalf of one or more employees" has the same 
meaning as explained above in "Record-keeping requirements under Section 34a 
and the act."  The act requires each employee to provide a separate written and 
notarized authorization before the person acting on that employee's or those 
employees' behalf may request the name, address, occupation, pay rate, hours 
worked for each day worked, and each amount paid for the particular employee.  
(R.C. 4111.14(H)(2).) 

The act specifies that "interested party" means a party who alleges to be 
injured by the alleged violation and who has standing to file a complaint under 
common law principles of standing.  (R.C. 4111.14(H)(3).) 

Under the act, "resolved by the state" means that the complaint has been 
resolved to the satisfaction of the state.  (R.C. 4111.14(H)(4).) 

The act defines "shall be kept confidential" to mean that the state must keep 
the name of the employee confidential as required by the act.  (R.C. 
4111.14(H)(5).) 

The act specifies that the state must investigate an employer's compliance 
with the act in accordance with the investigation procedures in continuing law 
described below in "Powers of the Director of Commerce."  The act further 
specifies that all records and information related to investigations by the state are 
confidential and are not a public record subject to the Public Records Law (R.C. 
149.43).  However, the act's confidentiality requirement does not prevent the state 
from releasing to or exchanging with other state and federal wage and hour 
regulatory authorities information related to investigations.  (R.C. 4111.14(I)(1).) 

Actions by private parties or the state for equitable or monetary relief 

Section 34a permits the Attorney General or an employee or person acting 
on behalf of an employee or all similarly situated employees to bring an action for 
equitable or monetary relief against an employer in any court of competent 
jurisdiction, including the common pleas court of an employee's county of 
residence, for any violation of Section 34a or any law or regulation implementing 
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its provisions.  If the Attorney General, employee, or person chooses to bring such 
an action, the Attorney General, employee, or person must bring the action within 
three years of the violation or of when the violation ceased if it was of a 
continuing nature, or within one year after notification to the employee of final 
disposition by the state of a complaint for the same violation, whichever is later.  
(Section 34a of Article II, Ohio Constitution.) 

The act reiterates the above provisions and defines "notification" to mean 
the date on which the notice was sent to the employee by the state (i.e., the 
Director of Commerce).  The act prohibits an employee from joining as a party 
plaintiff in any civil action that is brought under the act by an employee, person 
acting on behalf of an employee, or person acting on behalf of all similarly 
situated employees unless that employee first gives written consent to become 
such a party plaintiff and that consent is filed with the court in which the action is 
brought.  A civil action regarding an alleged violation of the act may be 
maintained only under the act.  However, the act does not preclude the joinder in a 
single civil action of an action for minimum wage violations maintained under the 
act and an action for overtime violations maintained under continuing law.  The 
act also specifies that any agreement between an employee and employer to work 
for less than the wage rate specified in Section 34a is no defense to an action under 
the act.  (R.C. 4111.14(K).) 

Section 34a requires damages to be calculated as an additional two times 
the amount of the back wages, and in the case of a violation of an anti-retaliation 
provision, an amount set by the state or court sufficient to compensate the 
employee and deter future violations, but not less than $150 for each day that the 
violation continued.  The act restates the above provision and specifies that the 
$150 penalty may be imposed only for violations of the anti-retaliation provision 
in Section 34a.  The anti-retaliation provision in Section 34a prohibits an employer 
from discharging or in any other manner discriminating or retaliating against an 
employee for exercising any right under that section or any law or regulation 
implementing its provisions or against any person for providing assistance to an 
employee or information regarding the same.  (R.C. 4111.14(J).) 

Section 34a stipulates that there can be no exhaustion requirement; no 
procedural, pleading, or burden of proof requirements beyond those that apply 
generally to civil suits in order to maintain such action; and no liability for costs or 
attorney's fees on an employee except upon a finding that such action was 
frivolous in accordance with the same standards that apply generally in civil suits.  
The act restates the above provision and specifies that nothing in that provision 
affects the right of an employer and employee to agree to submit a dispute under 
the act to alternative dispute resolution, including, but not limited to, arbitration, in 
lieu of maintaining the civil suit specified in the act.  The act specifies that nothing 
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in that provision of the act limits the state's ability to investigate or enforce the 
provisions of the act.  (R.C. 4111.14(L).) 

The act also specifies that an employer who provides the information 
specified in Section 34a, as explained above in "Record-keeping requirements 
under Section 34a and the act," is immune from any civil liability for injury, 
death, or loss to person or property that otherwise might be incurred or imposed as 
a result of providing that information to an employee or person acting on behalf of 
an employee in response to a request by the employee or person.  Additionally, the 
employer is not subject to the provisions of the Personal Information Systems Law 
(R.C. Chapter 1347.) or the Consumer Protection Law (R.C. Chapter 1349.) to the 
extent that such provisions would otherwise apply.  The terms "such information," 
"acting on behalf of an employee," and "request" have the same meanings as 
explained above in "Record-keeping requirements under Section 34a and the 
act."  (R.C. 4111.14.) 

Actions under superceded minimum wage law 

Under superceded minimum wage law, any employer who paid any 
employee less than wages to which the employee was entitled under that law was 
liable to the employee affected for the full amount of the wage rate, less any 
amount actually paid to the employee by the employer, and for costs and 
reasonable attorney's fees as allowed by the court.  As explained above in "Actions 
by private parties or the state for equitable or monetary relief," Section 34a 
created more detailed damages provisions than in superceded minimum wage law.  
Under the act, the provision in superceded minimum wage law explained above 
applies to only the overtime provisions in existing law instead of applying to any 
claims filed for a violation of Chapter 4111. of the Revised Code, which includes 
minimum wage claims.  (R.C. 4111.10.) 

Individuals with mental or physical disabilities 

Under continuing law, the Director of Commerce must adopt rules 
permitting employment in any occupation at wages lower than the wage rates 
applicable under Ohio's minimum wage rate requirements of individuals whose 
earning capacity is impaired by physical or mental deficiencies or injuries.  
Continuing law specifies that these rules must be adopted in order to prevent 
curtailment of opportunities for employment, to avoid undue hardship, and to 
safeguard minimum wage rates.  The rules must provide for licenses to be issued 
authorizing employment at the wages of specific individuals or groups of 
employees, or by specific employers or groups of employers. The rules must not 
conflict with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act.  (R.C. 4111.06 (not in 
the act) and 42 U.S.C. 12111, et seq.) 
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Section 34a authorizes the state to issue licenses to employers authorizing 
payment of a wage rate below that required by that section to individuals with 
mental or physical disabilities that may otherwise adversely affect their 
opportunity for employment.  This requirement does not appear to conflict with 
the provision explained above. 

The act restates the provision in Section 34a but specifies that in issuing 
such licenses, the state must abide by the rules adopted by the Director of 
Commerce, as described above.  (R.C. 4111.14(C).) 

Powers of the Director of Commerce 

Under continuing law, the Director may investigate and ascertain the wages 
of persons employed in any occupation in Ohio and enter and inspect the place of 
business or employment of any employer for various purposes, such as inspecting 
the employer's books, registers, and payrolls.  Under prior law, if an employer 
prohibited the Director from carrying out the Director's powers, the Director could 
have applied to any court of common pleas having jurisdiction of that employer or 
the place of employment under investigation for an order directing an employer's 
compliance.  The court could have punished failure to obey as contempt of court.  
(R.C. 4111.04.) 

The act replaces the Director's authority to apply for compliance orders 
with the authority to issue subpoenas and compel attendance of witnesses and 
production of papers, books, accounts, payrolls, documents, records, and 
testimony relating and relevant to the Director's investigation.  (Id.) 

Requirement to post a summary of the minimum wage law 

Continuing law requires every employer subject to the minimum wage law 
to keep a summary of the minimum wage law, including rules adopted pursuant to 
the law, posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the employer's 
premises.  The act specifies that the Director must make this summary available on 
the web site of the Department of Commerce.  The act requires the Director to 
update the summary as necessary, but not less than annually, in order to reflect 
changes in the minimum wage rate as required under Section 34a.  (R.C. 4111.09.) 

Purposes of Section 34a of Article II, Ohio Constitution 

The act stipulates that, pursuant to the General Assembly's authority to 
establish a minimum wage under Section 34a, the act is implementing that section.  
In implementing that section, the General Assembly finds that the purposes of that 
section are all of the following:  (1) to ensure that Ohio employees, as defined in 
the act, are paid the wage rate required by Section 34a, (2) to ensure that covered 
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Ohio employers maintain certain records that are directly related to the 
enforcement of the wage rate requirements in Section 34a, (3) to ensure that Ohio 
employees who are paid the wage rate required by Section 34a may enforce their 
right to receive that wage rate in the manner set forth in that section; and (4) to 
protect the privacy of Ohio employees' pay and personal information specified in 
Section 34a by restricting an employee's access, and access by a person acting on 
behalf of that employee, to the employee's own pay and personal information.  
(R.C. 4111.14(A).) 

The act also specifies that the General Assembly, by enacting the act, 
intends to implement the Ohio Fair Minimum Wage Amendment in the manner in 
which the proponents of the Amendment described it to Ohio voters during the 
campaigns for the General Election on November 7, 2006.  (Section 6.) 

The act states that the proponents of the Ohio Fair Minimum Wage 
Amendment issued campaign materials, one of which was entitled "Fact vs. 
Fiction: Minimum Wage Opponents Shamelessly Distort Facts to Deny Low-
Wage Workers a Raise," published by Ohioans for a Fair Minimum Wage, that  
stated all of the following upon which Ohio voters relied to be honest and 
accurate: 

(1)  Section 34a defines "employer," "employee," and "employ" as having 
the same meanings as under the FLSA.  Clear definitions for terms such as 
"employ" and "casual basis" will not necessitate litigation to clarify their meanings 
because those terms have been established by federal regulations, well settled case 
law, or both. 

(2)  By referencing the federal minimum wage law directly, Section 34a 
ensures that the Ohio law tracks the federal minimum wage requirements with 
respect to individuals who volunteer their time. 

(3)  Section 34a does not threaten employees' privacy because employees 
may seek access only to their own payroll records. 

(4)  Section 34a allows an employer to take reasonable steps to verify that a 
person does in fact represent the employee. 

(5)  Employment law experts explain that state authorities in Ohio will 
undoubtedly interpret the parallel language in Section 34a in the same manner as 
the federal Department of Labor, clarifying that employers need not keep 
irrelevant records for non-hourly employees.  ( Id.) 

The act explains that the General Assembly wishes to enact the act 
according to the proponents' campaign materials and pursuant to the authority 



Legislative Service Commission -18- Am. Sub. H.B. 690  

vested in the General Assembly by (1) Section 34a, which states that "laws may be 
passed to implement its provisions. . .," and (2) Section 34 of Article II, Ohio 
Constitution, which states that "laws may be passed fixing and regulating the 
hours of labor, establishing a minimum wage, and providing for the comfort, 
health, safety and general welfare of all employees; and no other provision of the 
constitution shall impair or limit this power," which Section 34a made no attempt 
to amend, repeal, or otherwise modify.  ( Id.) 

Severability clause 

The act contains a severability clause that stipulates that if any item of law 
in the act, or if any application of any item of law in the act, is held invalid, the 
invalidity does not affect other items of law or applications of items of law that 
can be given effect without the invalid item of law or application. To this end, the 
items of law of which the codified and uncodified sections of law contained in the 
act are composed, and their applications, are independent and severable.  (Section 
7.) 
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