

Amber Hardesty

Legislative Service Commission

Sub. H.B. 371

126th General Assembly (As Reported by S. Energy and Public Utilities)

Reps. Buehrer, Trakas, Raussen, Gibbs, J. McGregor, Uecker, Reidelbach, Brinkman, Combs, Faber, White, Schaffer, Hagan, Wagoner, Hughes, Oelslager, Hood, Fessler, Fende, Allen, Perry, Yuko, Bubp, Latta, J. Stewart, Martin, Beatty, Blessing, Boccieri, Book, Brown, Calvert, Carano, Cassell, Collier, Daniels, DeBose, DeGeeter, Distel, Dolan, Domenick, C. Evans, D. Evans, Flowers, Garrison, Gilb, Hartnett, Harwood, Healy, Key, Law, Mason, Otterman, T. Patton, Peterson, Raga, Redfern, Sayre, Schlichter, Schneider, Seaver, Seitz, G. Smith, D. Stewart, Wagner, Webster, Widowfield, Willamowski, Williams

Sens. Niehaus, Schuler

BILL SUMMARY

• Creates the Fuel Production Task Force to study opportunities for and barriers to increasing fuel production in Ohio.

CONTENT AND OPERATION

Task Force

The bill creates in temporary law a Fuel Production Task Force. Under the bill, the Task Force must meet as often as necessary to carry out its duties and responsibilities. Those consist of studying opportunities for and barriers to increasing the number of refineries and increasing the production of fuel from agricultural products in Ohio, in order to maximize fuel supply and create jobs for Ohio citizens; and, within 180 days after member appointments, submitting a report of its findings and recommendations to the Governor, the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the President and Minority Leader of the Senate. The bill provides that the Task Force ceases to exist upon submission of its report.

Membership

The Task Force consists of 13 members: (1) three members of the House of Representatives, two of which are from the majority party and appointed by the

Speaker and one of which is from the minority party and appointed by the Speaker in consultation with the House Minority Leader, (2) three members of the Senate, with similar party representation and appointments by the President of the Senate (in consultation with the Senate Minority Leader in the case of the Senate minority party member), (3) the Director of Environmental Protection or the Director's designee, (4) the Director of Development or the Director's designee, (5) two members representing the public, one appointed by the Speaker and the other appointed by the Senate President, (6) one member representing farmers, appointed by the Governor from a list of names provided by the Ohio Farm Bureau, (7) one member representing the petroleum industry, appointed by the Governor from a list of names provided by the Ohio Petroleum Council, and (8) one member representing the crude oil and natural gas producing industry, appointed by the Governor from a list of names provided by the Ohio Oil and Gas Association.

Appointments must be made within 30 days of the bill's effective date. The Task Force members must elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson from among its members, and will serve without compensation. The bill declares that serving as a Task Force member does not constitute the holding of a public office or position of employment under Ohio law and does not constitute grounds for removal of public officers or employees from their offices or positions of employment.

HISTORY

ACTION	DATE
Introduced	10-05-05
Reported, H. Public Utilities and Energy	01-19-06
Passed House (96-0)	03-29-06
Reported, S. Energy & Public Utilities	12-05-06

h0371-rs-126.doc/kl