

David M. Gold

Legislative Service Commission

S.B. 171

126th General Assembly (As Passed by the Senate)

Sens. Coughlin, Zurz

BILL SUMMARY

- Clarifies that the former township of Northampton is no longer within the jurisdiction of the Akron Municipal Court.
- Adds one additional judge for the general division of the Summit County Court of Common Pleas to be elected in 2006, for a term to begin January 3, 2007.

CONTENT AND OPERATION

Akron Municipal Court

Existing law establishes a municipal court in Akron that is known as the Akron Municipal Court. The Akron Municipal Court has jurisdiction within Bath, Northampton, Richfield, and Springfield townships, and within the municipal corporations of Fairlawn, Lakemore, and Mogadore, in Summit County. (R.C. 1901.02(B).)

The bill removes the township of Northampton from the jurisdiction of the Akron Municipal Court.

Summit County Court of Common Pleas

When the bill passed the Senate, the Summit County Court of Common Pleas had 12 judges: eight judges of the general division, two judges of the domestic relations division, one judge of the juvenile division, and one judge of the probate division (R.C. 2101.02, not in the bill, 2301.02(C), and 2301.03(I), not in the bill). Since then, the General Assembly has enacted Sub. H.B. 336, which adds two judges to the general division of the court who are to be elected in 2008. The bill adds one judge to the general division who is to be elected in 2006. (R.C. 2301.02(C).)

COMMENT

R.C. 1901.02 has been amended since passage of the bill by the Senate and needs to be updated.

HISTORY

ACTION	DATE
Introduced	08-18-05
Reported, S. Judiciary on Civil Justice	10-26-05
Passed Senate (31-0)	10-26-05

S0171-PS-126.doc/jc