

Lisa Sandberg

Legislative Service Commission

S.B. 171*

126th General Assembly (As Reported by S. Judiciary on Civil Justice)

Sen. Coughlin

BILL SUMMARY

- Clarifies that the former township of Northampton is no longer within the jurisdiction of the Akron Municipal Court.
- Adds one additional judge for the general division of the Summit County Court of Common Pleas to be elected in 2006, for a term to begin January 3, 2007.

CONTENT AND OPERATION

<u>Akron Municipal Court</u>

Existing law establishes a municipal court in Akron that is known as the Akron Municipal Court. The Akron Municipal Court has jurisdiction within Bath, Northampton, Richfield, and Springfield townships, and within the municipal corporations of Fairlawn, Lakemore, and Mogadore, in Summit County. (R.C. 1901.02(B).)

The bill removes the township of Northampton from the jurisdiction of the Akron Municipal Court.

Summit County Court of Common Pleas

Existing law

The Summit County Court of Common Pleas currently has 12 judges: eight judges of the general division, two judges of the domestic relations division, one

^{*} This analysis was prepared before the report of the Senate Judiciary on Civil Justice Committee appeared in the Senate Journal. Note that the list of co-sponsors and the legislative history may be incomplete.

judge of the juvenile division, and one judge of the probate division (R.C. 2101.02, not in the bill, 2301.02(C), and 2301.03(I), not in the bill).

Operation of the bill

The bill adds a new judge to the Summit County Court of Common Pleas. The new judge is to be elected initially in 2006 for a term to begin January 3, 2007. The new judge will be a judge of the general division. (R.C. 2301.02(C).)

HISTORY

ACTION	DATE	JOUR	NAL ENTRY
Introduced Reported, S. Judiciary on	08-18-05	p.	1396
Civil Justice			

S0171-RS-126.doc/jc

