

Jeff Grim

Legislative Service Commission

## **H.B. 233**

127th General Assembly (As Passed by the House)

Reps. Reinhard, Bubp, Collier, DeWine, Evans, Fende, Goodwin, Goyal, Huffman, Latta, J. McGregor, Schlichter, Seitz, Setzer, Webster, Zehringer, Wolpert, J. Hagan, R. Hagan, Schindel, Wagner, Heard, B. Williams, DeBose, Chandler, Lundy, Celeste, Stebelton, Otterman, Mallory, Adams, Aslanides, Bacon, Batchelder, Blessing, Bolon, Brown, Budish, Carmichael, Core, Daniels, Dodd, Domenick, Dyer, Flowers, Garrison, Gibbs, Harwood, Healy, Hite, Hughes, Koziura, Letson, Luckie, Mandel, Miller, Oelslager, Okey, Patton, Sayre, Schneider, Uecker, Ujvagi, Wachtmann, Wagoner, Widener

## **BILL SUMMARY**

- Creates the Ohio Agriculture to Chemicals, Polymers, and Advanced Materials Task Force.
- Requires the Task Force to submit a report to the General Assembly and the Governor by December 1, 2007, that provides an overview of the agriculture industry and the specialty chemicals and polymer industry in Ohio, a description of the conditions of and trends in those industries in Ohio, an identification and description of potential alignments between the agricultural industry and the specialty chemicals and polymer industry in Ohio, and recommendations for expanding the agriculture industry and the specialty chemicals and polymer industry in Ohio and for providing methods to increase alignments between those industries.

## CONTENT AND OPERATION

The bill creates the Ohio Agriculture to Chemicals, Polymers, and Advanced Materials Task Force, which is required to consist of the following 13 members:

(1) Three members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two of whom must be members of the majority party and one of whom must be a member of the minority party;

(2) Three members of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate, two of whom must be members of the majority party and one of whom must be a member of the minority party;

(3) A representative of the Ohio Chemistry Technology Council appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;

(4) A representative of Polymer Ohio appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;

(5) A representative of the Ohio BioProducts Innovation Center appointed by the President of the Senate;

(6) A representative of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation appointed by the President of the Senate:

(7) A representative of the Department of Agriculture appointed by the Director of Agriculture;

(8) A representative of the Department of Development appointed by the Director of Development; and

(9) The energy advisor to the Governor appointed by the Governor.

Appointments must be made, and the Task Force must hold its first meeting, not later than August 1, 2007. The representative of the Department of Agriculture must appoint a chairperson, and the Task Force must elect from its members a vice-chairperson. (Section 1(A).)

Not later than December 1, 2007, the Task Force must submit a report to the General Assembly and the Governor. The report must do all of the following:

(1) Provide an overview of the agriculture industry and the specialty chemicals and polymer industry in Ohio;

(2) Describe the conditions of and trends in those industries in Ohio;

(3) Identify and describe potential alignments between the agricultural industry and the specialty chemicals and polymer industry in Ohio; and

(4) Include recommendations to the General Assembly for expanding the agriculture industry and the specialty chemicals and polymer industry in Ohio and for providing methods to increase alignments between those industries.

Following submission of the report, the Task Force ceases to exist. (Section 1(B).)



## HISTORY

ACTION	DATE
Introduced	05-22-07
Reported, H. Economic Development & Environment	06-13-07
Passed House (99-0)	06-19-07

h0233-ph-127.doc/kl

