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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The state's license plate production and distribution costs, which are paid for with 

moneys appropriated from the State Bureau of Motor Vehicles Fund (Fund 4W40), 

will decrease by up to $1.65 million annually.  In addition, as a result of the 

$1 decrease in the amount of the license plate replacement/exchange fee, Fund 4W40 

will lose up to around $350,000 or more annually.  

 There may be a minimal annual loss in fines that might otherwise have been 

collected from drivers cited for failure to display two license plates by the Ohio State 

Highway Patrol and some savings if the trooper who issued the citation would 

otherwise have had to appear in court if it had been contested.  Under current law, 

such fines are deposited in the state treasury to the credit of the Security, 

Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400).  There may also be a negligible 

annual loss in locally collected state court costs that are credited to certain state 

funds. 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 Counties and certain municipalities and townships statewide could see a minimal 

annual loss in court cost and fine revenues that might otherwise have been collected 

from drivers who would have been cited for failure to display two license plates and 

distributed to the appropriate local jurisdictions.  That potential revenue loss would 

presumably be offset to some degree by the savings produced from no longer 

issuing and then processing citations for failure to display two license plates. 

 An indirect effect of the state's license plate production and distribution savings may 

be to increase the pool of money that is distributed back to local governments via the 

state's Auto Registration Distribution Fund (Fund 7051) for the planning, 

construction, and maintenance of public highways, roads, and other related 

activities. 
 

  

http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=129&D=HB&N=107&C=H&A=R1


2 

 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill eliminates the requirement that motor vehicles display a license plate on 

the front of the vehicle, which will have two direct fiscal effects on the state and its 

political subdivisions.  First, it will reduce the state's annual license plate production 

and distribution costs.  Second, as law enforcement officers would no longer be issuing 

citations for failure to display two license plates, state and local revenues (from court 

costs and fines) would decrease, as would the costs for local jurisdictions to process 

such violations. 

State fiscal effects 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles  

According to information provided by the state's Bureau of Motor Vehicles 

(BMV):  (1) the annual cost to manufacture and distribute license plates totals 

$4.3 million and (2) the projected annual savings from a single license plate, detailed in 

the table below, is estimated at $1.6 million.1  These projected annual savings would 

accrue to the State Bureau of Motor Vehicles Fund (Fund 4W40). 

 
Estimated Annual Single Plate Savings 

Cost Category Estimated Savings 

Sheeting (reflective laminate) $726,750 

Steel $524,550 

County Sticker $159,630 

Freight $171,000 

Consumables* $64,575 

Total $1,646,505 

     *Consumables relates to special license plate production only. 

Ohio State Highway Patrol 

Under current law, if a Highway Patrol trooper cites a driver for the failure to 

display two plates, the resulting fine is deposited in the state treasury to the credit of 

the Security, Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400).  As a result of the bill, such 

citations would no longer be issued.  The resulting loss in fine revenue deposited to the 

credit of Fund 8400 will likely be no more than minimal annually, and could be offset to 

some degree by eliminating the need for troopers to appear in court for contested 

citations. 

Revenues 

Citations.  As citations would no longer be issued for failure to display two 

license plates, the state will lose a negligible amount in state court cost revenues that 

                                                 

1 Estimated savings is based on average annual production runs of 1.8 million sets of standard embossed 

license plates and 150,000 sets of special license plates. 
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would otherwise have been collected annually for deposit in the state treasury to the 

credit of certain state funds.  The amount of state court costs assessed depends upon 

whether the driver was cited for a moving or nonmoving traffic violation.  The state 

funds that receive court costs from various traffic and criminal violations include:  the 

Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0), the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund 

(Fund 4020), the Drug Law Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ET0), and the Justice Program 

Services Fund (Fund 4P60).   

Replacement license plates.  Under current law, the BMV charges a fee of 

$7.50 to replace or exchange a set of two license plates.  Of that amount, $5.50 is credited 

to the State Highway Safety Fund (Fund 7036) and $2.00 is credited to the State Bureau 

of Motor Vehicles Fund (Fund 4W40).  The bill reduces the $7.50 fee by $1.00 to $6.50, 

which is the current fee for replacing or exchanging a single license plate, and similarly 

reduces the amount of that fee credited to Fund 4W40 by $1.00.  Based on the number of 

double license plate replacements/exchanges processed in FY 2010 – 355,498 – this $1 fee 

reduction will result in Fund 4W40 losing up to $350,000 or more annually. 

Local fiscal effects 

Under current law, a violation of the requirement to display two license plates is 

likely to result in a law enforcement officer issuing a citation for the commission of a 

minor misdemeanor, the penalty for which would be a fine of up to $150.  In lieu of 

making a court appearance on the citation, a person is permitted to pay the amount of 

fines and court costs to the office of the clerk of the court in person or by mail. 

As a result of the bill, counties and certain municipalities and townships will 

likely see a loss in fine and court cost revenues, the magnitude of which depends upon 

the number of citations typically issued annually to drivers who did not display two 

license plates.  The likely loss in annual revenue for local jurisdictions is unlikely to 

exceed minimal.  If most of the violations are in fact citation-based minor 

misdemeanors, then those operating expenses are likely to be minimal annually.  Thus, 

the bill may generate a minimal annual savings effect that could offset the annual 

revenue loss. 

A potential indirect local fiscal effect is also possible, as whenever the cash flow 

for Fund 4W40 changes, local governments may also be affected.  Monthly, an 

assessment of Fund 4W40 occurs and excess cash not needed for the BMV's monthly 

operating expenses is transferred to the state's Auto Registration Distribution Fund 

(Fund 7051).  Cash in Fund 7051 is distributed to local governments (counties, 

municipalities, and townships) to use for transportation-related needs such as roads 

and bridges.  As the BMV's expenses or revenue sources increase or decrease, moneys 

available for redistribution to local governments may increase or decrease accordingly.  

Thus, a decrease in expenditures for the state's Fund 4W40 may result in more money 

being available for distribution back to local governments via Fund 7051. 
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