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State Fiscal Highlights 

 The bill requires the third grade reading assessment administered in the spring of 

the 2014-2015 school year to be the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) for all 

students, rather than either the OAA or the new PARCC assessment, depending on 

how a student fared on the third grade reading OAA given in the fall, as under 

current law. The additional cost for a full spring administration of the OAA is 

estimated to be over $1.2 million. Due to a provision in Ohio's contract with 

PARCC's test vendor, there appears to be no savings from doing away with the 

applicable PARCC exam this school year. 

 The bill requires the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) to make available an 

end-of-course exam in biology until the 2016-2017 school year and possibly 

thereafter. According to ODE, the cost to finish development of this exam could be 

up to $1 million, depending on whether the test will be administered for the first 

time this school year or next. This cost will be paid for using the contract savings 

generated when work on the exam was suspended earlier this year.  

 The bill eliminates an October 1, 2015 effective date for an exemption for chartered 

nonpublic schools from state-mandated high school end-of-course exams. This may 

reduce ODE's assessment system costs in FY 2015 by up to an estimated $550,000. 

 The bill's assessment system changes will primarily impact expenditures from the 

GRF. 

 The bill makes some minor adjustments to the way in which certain truant and high 

school students are counted for the purposes of the state foundation funding 

formula, likely resulting in a relatively small increase in such funding. 

http://www.lsc.state.oh.us/
http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=130&D=HB&N=343&C=H&A=R2
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Local Fiscal Highlights 

 The effects on individual school districts' state foundation funding associated with 

the bill's changes to the student count will depend mostly on the characteristics of 

the student, the district's state share index, and, in FY 2015, whether the district is 

subject to either of the formula's guarantee or gain cap provisions. 

 

 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill makes various changes to a variety of education laws, most notably 

concerning assessments for high school and elementary students and the way in which 

student enrollment is counted for certain students for purposes of the state foundation 

funding formula. Provisions with a fiscal effect are discussed below. Many provisions 

are clarifying or corrective in nature and have little or no fiscal effect. 

Provisions related to assessments 

The bill changes the particular assessments required to be used as the third grade 

English language arts assessment in the spring of the 2014-2015 school year. The bill 

also makes several changes to the College and Work Ready Assessment System, Ohio's 

new system of high school assessments used for accountability purposes and as one 

determinant of eligibility for a high school diploma. The system replaces the Ohio 

Graduation Tests (OGTs) beginning with students that entered the ninth grade in the 

current 2014-2015 school year. Under current law, the system is comprised of a national 

college admissions exam provided to 11th grade students and seven end-of-course 

exams, two in English language arts, two in mathematics, and one each in physical 

science, American history, and American government. Assessment system costs are 

supported mostly by the GRF but also by some federal funds.  

Third grade reading assessment 

For the 2014-2015 school year, current law enacted in H.B. 487 of the 130th 

General Assembly requires that the fall administration of the third grade reading 

assessment use the assessment administered the previous year, the Ohio Achievement 

Assessment (OAA) developed by the American Institutes for Research (AIR), and that 

the spring administration of the assessment to a student who does not attain a score 

high enough to be promoted to fourth grade on the fall assessment also use the OAA. 

However, current law requires the spring administration of the assessment to a student 

who does attain a score high enough to be promoted to fourth grade on the fall 

assessment to use the new assessment developed by the Partnership for the Assessment 

of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC). The bill modifies this provision to 

require that the third grade reading assessment administered in the spring of the 

2014-2015 school year be only the OAA, no matter how a student fared on the OAA 
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administered in the fall. Consequently, the PARCC exam in English language arts 

(ELA) for third graders will not be administered this spring. 

While the third grade ELA PARCC exam will not be administered this school 

year under the bill, a provision in Ohio's contract with PARCC's test vendor appears to 

indicate that the PARCC assessments given to third grade students in the spring will be 

invoiced at the full per-student price, which covers the cost of both ELA and 

mathematics assessments, whether or not a student takes both tests. If so, there will be 

no savings from doing away with this particular PARCC assessment this school year. 

Further, the cost to administer the OAA in the spring will increase due to a higher 

student testing volume. According to information supplied by the Ohio Department of 

Education (ODE), the additional cost of a full spring administration of the third grade 

reading OAA is estimated at over $1.2 million, based on the difference between the cost 

of the fall third grade reading OAA (about $2.2 million) and the estimated cost of the 

partial spring administration under current law (a little under $1 million based on the 

expectation that 35% to 40% of third graders would re-take the OAA). 

Science end-of-course exam 

The bill requires ODE to provide an end-of-course exam in biology until the 

2016-2017 school year as an alternative to the exam in physical science. Beginning with 

the 2016-2017 school year, the State Board of Education may choose to provide one or 

both of the exams. This change is in response to concerns that some schools may not 

offer a course specifically in physical science or may only offer the course during the 

seventh and eighth grades instead of in the ninth grade, as is the norm. Biology is a 

course typically taken during the tenth grade and was one of the ten subjects originally 

slated for an end-of-course exam under the original graduation requirements system 

approved by the State Board in November 2013. Thus, ODE had begun developing an 

exam, including field tests in the spring of 2014, before work was suspended following 

the test's elimination by H.B. 487 of the 130th General Assembly. 

ODE's assessment system costs will increase to complete development of 

operational forms and finalize test items. According to ODE, it is too late in the school 

year to complete development of both online and paper versions of the exam for 

administration this spring. However, an online-only version of the exam for this school 

year can be developed on a fast-track at an estimated cost of roughly $1 million, which 

will be paid for using the contract savings generated when work on the exam was 

suspended earlier this year. Development costs would be less if administration of the 

test does not begin until the 2015-2016 school year, the first year most students falling 

under the new assessment system will take a biology course and thus, would be more 

likely to take the exam.  

End-of-course exam exemption for chartered nonpublic schools 

Under current law enacted in H.B. 487, all chartered nonpublic school students 

entering the ninth grade beginning in the current 2014-2015 school year must meet 
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curriculum requirements as well as one of three assessment pathways in order to 

graduate. However, effective October 1, 2015, H.B. 487 exempts chartered nonpublic 

school students from taking the end-of-course exams as long as the schools publish 

certain performance data for each graduating class on the national college admissions 

exam that is part of the high school assessment system. Meanwhile, H.B. 487 created a 

committee to make recommendations regarding graduation and state-mandated testing 

requirements for such students by January 15, 2015.  

The bill eliminates the exemption's October 1, 2015 effective date, setting into 

effect the exemption upon the bill's effective date, which, in practice, can be no later 

than late March or early April 2015.1 Because fewer end-of-course exams may be taken 

this fiscal year, ODE's assessment system costs for FY 2015 may decrease by up to an 

estimated $550,000. This estimate is based on certain assumptions. We assume each 

nonpublic student would have taken three end-of-course exams during the ninth grade: 

English language arts I, algebra I, and physical science. In general, the test vendor for 

the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) charges 

$12.47 per computer-based test and $17.97 per paper-based test. Since the actual costs 

for science and social studies assessments, which are contracted through a different 

vendor, have not been determined, we assumed the per-test charges for the physical 

science exam are the same as those for the PARCC exams. The estimate assumes that all 

chartered nonpublic schools opt to forego the exams. There were about 12,100 tenth 

grade nonpublic school students that took all of the five OGTs in March 2014; there are 

likely a similar number of ninth grade students that otherwise will take each applicable 

exam. Finally, we assume an equal number of students would have taken paper-based 

and computer-based assessments, as ODE's student testing volume projections for 

FY 2015 for the PARCC tests presume such a split among the two formats. Thus, the 

estimated decrease of up to $550,000 is derived as follows: ($12.47 per computer test x 

3 tests x 6,050 students) + ($17.97 per paper test x 3 tests x 6,050 students). 

Student enrollment 

The bill makes some adjustments to the way in which certain students are 

counted for the purposes of the state foundation funding formula. The circumstances 

addressed by these changes do not appear to be common, making any resulting 

increase in state foundation funding likely to be relatively small. Note that FY 2015 is 

the first year in which the state will be using an annualized, full-time equivalent (FTE) 

student enrollment method for counting students for the purposes of the formula. 

In general, students are counted based on the portion of the year they are enrolled 

                                                 

1 Note that the first spring 2015 testing window runs from February 16 through March 20, when 

students will complete performance-based assessments, the first component of state-mandated 

testing. 
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under the new method. Formerly, districts counted their students over one week in 

October then calculated the daily average. 

Withdrawal requirements 

Effect on state foundation funding 

Under current law, if a student fails to participate in learning opportunities and 

has not received an excused absence for 105 continuous hours, the school district must 

withdraw the student for the purposes of the student count. The bill delays withdrawal 

of a student until the student has at least 265 continuous hours of unexcused absences. 

This change will increase the amount of state foundation funding for school districts in 

these circumstances, assuming that a student is not a "no show" (i.e., enrolled the 

previous school year but not participating at all in educational activities in the current 

school year).2 In the case of a "no show," the district does not receive credit for any 

hours enrolled before withdrawal. In FY 2015, school districts receiving temporary 

transitional aid or subject to the gain cap will also not receive any additional funding 

from this change.  

Consider the example of a hypothetical student who is withdrawn for a 

continuous number of hours of unexcused absence. Assume that the student's school 

engages in instructional time for 1,100 hours over the course of the school year. The 

student began the year attending classes but has since been absent for 265 continuous 

hours without excuse and has been withdrawn under the bill. Under current law, the 

student would have been withdrawn after 105 continuous hours of unexcused absences. 

Thus, under the bill, the student is credited for an additional 160 hours, representing a 

marginal 0.145 FTE (160/1,100) for the district. The funding impact on the district's state 

foundation funding will depend mostly on the characteristics of the student and the 

district's state share index, which measures local revenue generating capacity and 

ranges from 5% to 90%. For simplicity, assume (1) that the student is "typical" (i.e., not 

receiving special education, not economically disadvantaged, not limited English 

proficient, etc.), and (2) the student's district does not receive transitional aid and is not 

subject to the gain cap. The additional amount the district will receive for the student 

under the largest component of state foundation funding, the opportunity grant (based 

on the FY 2015 per-pupil formula amount of $5,800), will range from about $42 

($5,800 per FTE x 0.145 FTE x 0.05) to about $757 ($5,800 per FTE x 0.145 FTE x 0.90). 

                                                 

2 Draft annualized FTE enrollment policy recommendations developed by ODE and external 

stakeholder groups would also require school districts to make a good faith effort (and provide 

documentation of that effort) to get the student back in school in order to receive funding for 

the 105-hour standard in current law.  
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Administrative responsibilities 

Before a student is withdrawn, the bill requires school districts to take certain 

actions in order to compel the student to resume attendance. When a student reaches at 

least 60 cumulative hours of unexcused absences, the bill requires a district to notify a 

student's parent or guardian in writing of the consequences for continued truancy. Once 

a student reaches 105 cumulative hours, the bill requires that a district take appropriate 

action under current law. "Appropriate action" under current law might include such 

things as the district requiring the student's parent or guardian to attend parental 

involvement or parent education programs, or filing a complaint against the child and 

the child's parent or guardian that the child is an unruly or delinquent child depending 

on the student's truancy status. These responsibilities may increase the administrative 

burden of school districts. Under the bill, school districts that fail to comply with the 

bill's requirements could be subject to a reduction in the district's state foundation 

funding. The bill requires ODE to track and record the number of students who meet 

the bill's truancy thresholds described above, which may increase ODE's administrative 

burden.  

Minimum credit hours for high school students 

According to ODE, to generate a full FTE in a district's student count, a student 

must be enrolled in learning opportunities for the entire day the student's grade is 

scheduled. If a student does not participate in a learning opportunity for one or more 

periods during the school day, the student's reported FTE must reflect this and would 

be less than one, which will impact the district's state foundation funding.  

The bill requires ODE to consider a student in any of grades 9 to 12 as one FTE if 

the student is enrolled in at least five units of instruction per school year. In general, this 

change will increase state foundation funding to school districts for high school 

students that, under current law, would have been counted as less than one FTE due to 

the student being enrolled for less than a full school day. This situation applies to 

students who have been approved by their district to leave school early in order to 

work jobs unrelated to an instructional purpose. It also applies to seniors that are 

regularly granted early release or late arrival if they need less than a full-time load of 

credit hours in order to graduate. Like the provision above, school districts receiving 

temporary transitional aid or subject to the gain cap in FY 2015 will also not receive any 

additional funding from this change this fiscal year. 

Career advising and mentoring grant program funding  

The bill reappropriates an amount equal to the unexpended, unencumbered 

portion of ODE line item 200629, Career Advising and Mentoring Program, at the end 

of FY 2015 for the same purpose for FY 2016. This line item's FY 2015 appropriation, 

funded through lottery proceeds, is $10 million. To date this fiscal year, no money has 

been expended or encumbered from this line item, which will be used to disburse 

competitive matching grants that provide funding for local networks of volunteers and 
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organizations to sponsor career advising and mentoring for students in eligible school 

districts. 

Admission to school of protected children  

Under continuing law, school districts and nonpublic schools are required to see 

a child's birth certificate or certain documents that may be provided in lieu of a birth 

certificate at the time of initial entry to a school. While the school may still enroll a 

student for whom a birth certificate or other acceptable document is not presented, 

current law requires the school to notify local law enforcement of this fact and of the 

possibility that the student may be a missing child.  

The bill clarifies that no public or private school is permitted to deny a protected 

child (i.e., a child in foster care or in a residential facility) admission to the school solely 

because the child does not present a birth certificate or other acceptable document upon 

registration for entry into the school, though the child's parent, custodian, or guardian 

must present a birth certificate or other acceptable document to the school within 

90 days after the child's initial entry. Further, the bill provides an exemption to the 

missing child notification requirement for protected children that are not able to 

produce a birth certificate or other acceptable document right away. As a result of the 

bill, public districts and schools may need to provide missing child notification in fewer 

circumstances, possibly reducing administrative costs.  

State Board and ODE administrative responsibilities 

The bill requires the State Board or ODE to carry out a number of administrative 

responsibilities, which may increase administrative costs. Specifically, the bill requires: 

 The State Board to adopt rules, not later than 90 days after the bill's 

effective date, regarding the sale of beverages and food during the regular 

school day in connection with a school-sponsored fundraiser. 

 The State Board, by June 30, 2015, to develop a model disciplinary policy 

for violent, disruptive, or inappropriate behavior.  

 The State Board, by November 1, 2015, to make a recommendation on 

whether or not to extend by one year the safe harbor provisions in effect 

for the 2014-2015 school year associated with (1) sanctions and penalties 

due to report card ratings and (2) decisions regarding teacher dismissal, 

retention, tenure, or compensation resulting from value-added ratings on 

state achievement assessments. 

 The State Board to adopt rules to establish proficiency percentages for the 

purposes of report card performance indicators for the 2014-2015 school 

year by December 1, 2015, and school years thereafter by certain other 

prescribed dates. 

 ODE, by December 31, 2015, to provide each school district a copy of the 

model disciplinary policy adopted by the State Board and to develop 
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materials to assist school districts in providing teacher and staff training 

on the implementation of the strategies included in that policy. 

 ODE, by January 15, 2016, to rank districts and schools according to 

2014-2015 school year per pupil operating expenditures and percentage of 

operating expenditures spent on classroom instruction (this ranking 

requirement, which otherwise must be met by September 1, 2015, was 

suspended by H.B. 487 of the 130th General Assembly). 

 ODE to modify and add to the existing academic performance measures to 

be reported annually for students with disabilities enrolled at each school 

district, community school, STEM school, and college-preparatory 

boarding school beginning October 1, 2015. For the 2014-2015 school year 

only, the bill permits all such measures to be reported by January 15, 2016. 

Also, the bill (1) permits, for the 2014-2015 school year only, assessment scores 

for individual students to be reported to school district boards by December 31, 2015 

and (2) delays the issuance of report cards for the 2014-2015 school year to January 15, 

2016. Current law requires assessment scores to be sent to each school district board 

within 60 days after its administration, or, at the latest, by the June 15 following the 

administration and report cards for public districts and schools to be published by 

September 15 each year.  

While there is no direct fiscal effect from these provisions, the delay in issuance 

of the 2014-2015 assessment scores and report cards results from the PARCC 

assessments in ELA and mathematics being administered for the first time in the spring 

of 2015. That administration must be complete in order for PARCC to determine the cut 

scores marking the various levels of proficiency on the assessments. Cut scores are not 

expected to be established until sometime in the fall of 2015. 

Adult learner data collection 

Beginning in FY 2015, continuing law, enacted in H.B. 483 of the 130th General 

Assembly, permits individuals ages 22 and older that have not received a high school 

diploma or a certificate of high school equivalence (referred to as "adult learners") to 

enroll for up to two cumulative school years in certain traditional or joint vocational 

school districts, community schools, or community colleges, university branches, or 

technical centers in order to earn a high school diploma. Continuing law also requires 

the State Board of Education to adopt rules by December 31, 2014 regarding 

administration of the programs for these students, including data collection and other 

subjects. The bill codifies one of these proposed rules, which specifies the types of data 

ODE must collect for each participating adult learner. Since the data would likely have 

been collected as a result of the rule authorized under continuing law, there is no direct 

fiscal effect as a result of this provision. 
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