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Local Impact Statement Procedure Required: No  

Contents: Revises Cosmetology Licensing Law 

State Fiscal Highlights 

 Hair braiding and hair threading. The bill establishes a series of new licenses that 

apply to the branches of hair braiding and hair threading under the field of 

cosmetology. Applicants under these various license types would be charged the $45 

initial license fee and $45 renewal fee under the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology's 

existing fee structure. The Board estimates there are between 800 and 1,000 hair 

braiders and between 300 and 400 hair threaders in Ohio. It is unclear how many of 

these individuals will apply for licensure under the various new categories in the 

bill. 

 License restoration fee. The bill specifies that the license restoration fee under the 

State Board of Cosmetology's license amnesty program be deposited into the 

Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). Currently, these 

proceeds are deposited into the GRF. The Board collected $127,000 in license 

restoration fees under the program during the previous two fiscal years.  

 Expanded investigatory and disciplinary authority. The bill expands the authority 

of the Board with respect to investigations and issuing subpoenas. These provisions 

could result in an increase in investigations, with possible increases in disciplinary 

actions and administrative hearings. Presumably, some of the costs the State Board 

of Cosmetology will incur for carrying out these expanded responsibilities could be 

offset by additional fees and fines collected as a result of the additional 

investigations and disciplinary actions. 

Local Fiscal Highlights 

 No direct fiscal effect on political subdivisions. 

  

http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bill.cfm?S=130&D=HB&N=410&C=H&A=I
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

Overview 

The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology is responsible for the regulation of 

cosmetology-related occupations and facilities. Overall, the Board issues 23 different 

license types. During the FY 2012-FY 2013 biennial renewal cycle, the Board oversaw 

between 119,000 and 127,000 active individuals and facility licenses in each fiscal year. 

Over this period, the Board collected approximately $9.3 million in revenues and had 

expenditures totaling $7.0 million. The Board currently maintains a staff of 39 

employees. The Board is supported by various cosmetology license fees deposited into 

the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). 

The bill makes numerous revisions to the cosmetology laws. These changes cover 

several areas, including new licenses, education requirements, testing requirements, 

investigative authority and subpoena power, and other various oversight functions of 

the State Board of Cosmetology. The provisions of the bill that have fiscal effects are 

described in more detail below.  

License fees 

New hair braiding and hair threading licenses  

The bill establishes new fees in the areas of hair braiding and hair threading. In 

regard to braiding, the bill establishes licensing requirements for braiders, braiding 

instructors, salon managers, and salons. In regard to threading, the bill establishes 

licensing requirements for threaders, threading instructors, managers, and salons. The 

$45 initial license fee and $45 renewal fee for these license types fall under the fee 

structure already applicable to other branches of cosmetology. The Board estimates that 

there are approximately 800 to 1,000 individuals currently working as hair braiders in 

the state and approximately 300 to 400 individuals currently working as hair threaders. 

The amount of revenue generated by these new licenses will ultimately depend on how 

many of these individuals opt to acquire the required licenses and what specific licenses 

they choose to obtain.  

License restoration 

The bill modifies fees and also redirects the proceeds collected under the State 

Board of Cosmetology's license amnesty program. Under current law, an individual 

that has allowed his or her license to lapse for more than one license period may restore 

the license by paying back fees, fulfilling continuing education requirements, and 

taking an online exam, in addition to paying a $30 fee. Unlike other fees collected by the 

Board, this $30 restoration fee is deposited into the GRF. The bill revises the current 

arrangement by requiring the licensee to pay an amount equal to the sum of the current 

renewal fee ($45); any applicable late fee, and if one or more renewal periods have 

elapsed since the license was valid, the lapsed renewal fees for not more than three 
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renewal periods. The bill also redirects the fees from the GRF to Fund 4K90. According 

to the Board, receipts collected under the amnesty program over the previous two fiscal 

years were $127,000.  

Managing license 

The bill makes changes to the definition of a managing license that could result 

in a substantial increase in license fee revenue collected by the Board. Under current 

law, a managing license is defined to mean "a license to manage a salon and practice the 

branch of cosmetology practiced at the salon." The bill changes the definition to mean "a 

license to manage a salon offering a branch of cosmetology appropriate to the license." 

Under this change, if individuals with managing licenses would also have to obtain an 

additional license to practice in their area, the Board could see a significant increase in 

license revenue. According to the Board, in FY 2013 there were approximately 59,600 

active managing licenses. License fee revenue is deposited into Fund 4K90. 

Installment plan 

The bill provides statutory authority for the Board to establish an installment 

plan for the payment of fines and fees and to reduce fees as considered appropriate by 

the Executive Director. Specifically, the bill permits the Board to extend the due date for 

a fee payment by up to 90 days, either at the request of a person who is temporarily 

unable to pay a fee or on the Board's own motion. If the fee remains unpaid after the 

due date, the amount of the fee must be certified to the Ohio Attorney General for 

collection. Currently, the Board has an installment plan for the payment of fines, but not 

for the payment of fees. As a consequence of this change in the bill, the Board will 

continue to collect anticipated revenue, but the receipts could be deferred for a longer 

time than they are now.  

Powers and duties of the Board 

Additional powers 

The bill permits the Board, on its own motion or on receipt of a written 

complaint, to investigate or inspect the activities or premises of any person who is 

alleged to have violated the statutes or rules governing the practice of cosmetology, 

regardless of whether that person is licensed by the Board. The bill also gives the Board 

the authority to compel, by order or subpoena, the attendance of witnesses to testify in 

relation to any matter over which the Board has jurisdiction that is subject to an inquiry 

or investigation by the Board.  

As a result of this expanded authority, the Board estimates that it may conduct as 

many as 1,000 additional inspections throughout the course of a calendar year. 

Currently, the Board has 12 inspectors on staff. Depending on the additional inspection 

and enforcement actions undertaken by the Board, there will be some additional costs 

related to travel for conducting these inspections. In FY 2012, there were 12,364 random 

inspections, resulting in 2,381 notices of violation and approximately $460,000 collected 
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from violations. In FY 2013, the Board collected just over $553,000 in fines and penalties 

for various violations, conducted 10,952 random inspections, and issued 1,370 notices of 

violation. 

The power to subpoena could also result in additional costs for the Board. Under 

the bill, an individual that is subpoenaed to testify must be compensated in the same 

manner that exists in current law for all witnesses required to attend an adjudication 

hearing ($12 for each full day's attendance, $6 for each half day's attendance, and 

50 cents per mile). If a person fails to appear in compliance with the subpoena, a court 

of common pleas is permitted to issue a subpoena compelling appearance before the 

court.  

Disciplinary actions 

The bill establishes two new reasons for which the Board may take disciplinary 

action: (1) failure to cooperate with an inspection or investigation, and (2) failure to 

respond to a subpoena. The Board is permitted to take one or more disciplinary actions 

based on these offenses, such as denying, revoking, or suspending a license or permit, 

and imposing a fine. With the new licenses, increased powers established in the bill, 

and probable increase in investigations that will be conducted, it is likely that the Board 

will be taking more disciplinary actions. Consequently, there will be additional costs 

associated with conducting more administrative hearings; however, these costs will 

likely be offset to some degree by fees and fines collected. 

Administrative notifications 

The bill authorizes the Board, in addition to the methods of notification required 

under the Administrative Procedure Act, to send required notices by any delivery 

method that is traceable and requires that the delivery person obtain a signature to 

verify that the notice has been delivered. The Board also may send the notice by 

electronic mail if the electronic mail delivery system certifies that a notice has been 

received. The electronic mail method could result in some cost savings in mailing fees 

for the Board. 

Licensure reporting 

The bill requires, one year after the effective date of the bill, and for the next two 

years thereafter, that the Board of Cosmetology submit a written report to the Governor 

and General Assembly concerning statistics about the new threader and braider licenses 

created under the bill. Specifically, the report is required to provide information 

regarding (1) the number of students enrolled in courses at licensed schools of 

cosmetology that are required for each of the new licenses created in the bill, (2) the 

number of applications received, (3) the number of licenses issued for each of these new 

license types, (4) the number of complaints received regarding holders of these new 

licenses, (5) the number of investigations, and (6) the disciplinary actions taken 

resulting from these new licensees. While the Board likely would have this data 

compiled as a whole for all license types it regulates, there could be some minimal 
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administrative effort associated with determining how much of the data compiled from 

the six above categories is attributable to the new licenses created in the bill. 
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